Skip to content
en-us GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. MLB

MLB Manager of the Year: Winners, trophy, when is it awarded?

All you need to know about MLB's Manager of the Year award, including past winners, the trophy, when it is awarded, and more.

MLB Manager of the Year Winners

YearAmerican League winnerNational League winner
2023Brandon HydeSkip Schumaker
2022Terry FranconaBuck Showalter
2021Kevin CashGabe Kapler
2020Kevin CashDon Mattingly
2019Rocco BaldelliMike Shildt
2018Bob MelvinBrian Snitker
2017Paul MolitorTory Lovullo
2016Terry FranconaDave Roberts
2015Jeff BanisterJoe Maddon
2014Buck ShowalterMatt Williams
2013Terry FranconaClint Hurdle
2012Bob MelvinDavey Johnson
2011Joe MaddonKirk Gibson
2010Ron GardenhireBud Black
2009Mike SciosciaJim Tracy
2008Joe MaddonLou Piniella
2007Eric WedgeBob Melvin
2006Jim LeylandJoe Girardi
2005Ozzie GuillenBobby Cox
2004Buck ShowalterBobby Cox
2003Tony PenaJack McKeon
2002Mike SciosciaTony La Russa
2001Lou PiniellaLarry Bowa
2000Jerry ManuelDusty Baker
1999Jimy WilliamsJack McKeon
1998Joe TorreLarry Dierker
1997Davey JohnsonDusty Baker
1996Joe Torre & Johnny OatesBruce Bochy
1995Lou PiniellaDon Baylor
1994Buck ShowalterFelipe Alou
1993Gene LamontDusty Baker
1992Tony La RussaJim Leyland
1991Tom KellyBobby Cox
1990Jeff TorborgJim Leyland
1989Frank RobinsonDon Zimmer
1988Tony La RussaTommy Lasorda
1987Sparky AndersonBuck Rodgers
1986John McNamaraHal Lanier
1985Bobby CoxWhitey Herzog
1984Sparky AndersonJim Frey
1983Tony La RussaTommy Lasorda

When are MLB Manager of the Year Awards announced?

The Manager of the Year Award winners are announced around two weeks after the World Series concludes as part of MLB's awards season. In 2023, the winners were announced on Nov. 14.

Who votes on the MLB Manager of the Year Award?

The Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) votes on the winners of the Manager of the Year Award. Two writers in each MLB city get to vote, and votes must be submitted before the postseason begins. Voters get a first-, second-, and third-place vote which are worth five, three, and one point respectively. The manager with the most points, regardless of the number of first-place votes, wins the award.

MLB Manager of the Year Award trophy

MLB's Manager of the Year trophy is a baseball diamond on a pedestal that includes the name of the award and the name of the winning manager.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets

Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.