Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. MLB
  2. MLB Draft

MLB Draft: Every No. 1 pick

A complete list of every number one overall pick in MLB Draft history, from Rick Monday in 1965 to Paul Skenes in 2023.

The Pittsburgh Pirates selected LSU pitcher Paul Skenes with the first pick of the 2023 MLB Draft.

Who will be next to join the list of All-Stars and Hall of Famers to be selected first overall?

YearPlayerTeam Position
2023Paul SkenesPittsburgh PiratesP
2022Jackson HolidayBaltimore OriolesSS
2021Henry DavisPittsburgh PiratesC
2020Spencer TorkelsonDetroit Tigers3B
2019Adley RutschmanBaltimore OriolesC
2018Casey MizeDetroit TigersRHP
2017Royce LewisMinnesota TwinsSS
2016Mickey MoniakPhiladelphia PhilliesOF
2015Dansby SwansonArizona DiamondbacksSS
2014Brady AikenHouston AstrosLHP
2013Mark AppelHouston AstrosRHP
2012Carlos CorreaHouston AstrosSS
2011Gerrit ColePittsburgh PiratesRHP
2010Bryce HarperWashington NationalsOF/C
2009Stephen StrasburgWashington NationalsRHP
2008Tim BeckhamTampa Bay RaysSS
2007David PriceTampa Bay RaysLHP
2006Luke HochevarKansas City RoyalsRHP
2005Justin UptonArizona DiamondbacksSS
2004Matt BushSan Diego PadresSS
2003Delmon YoungTampa Bay Devil RaysOF
2002Bryan BullingtonPittsburgh PiratesRHP
2001Joe MauerMinnesota TwinsC
2000Adrian GonzalezFlorida Marlins1B
1999Josh HamiltonTampa Bay Devil RaysOF
1998Pat BurrellPhiladelphia PhilliesOF
1997Matt AndersonDetroit TigersRHP
1996Kris BensonPittsburgh PiratesRHP
1995Darin ErstadCalifornia AngelsOF
1994Paul WilsonNew York MetsRHP
1993Alex RodriguezSeattle MarinersSS
1992Phil NevinHouston Astros3B
1991Brien TaylorNew York YankeesLHP
1990Chipper JonesAtlanta BravesSS
1989Ben McDonaldBaltimore OriolesRHP
1988Andy BenesSan Diego PadresRHP
1987Ken Griffey Jr.Seattle MarinersOF
1986Jeff KingPittsburgh Pirates3B
1985B.J. SurhoffMilwaukee BrewersC
1984Shawn AbnerNew York Mets OF
1983Tim BelcherMinnesota TwinsRHP
1982Shawon DunstonChicago CubsSS
1981Mike MooreSeattle MarinersRHP
1980Darryl StrawberryNew York Mets OF
1979Al ChambersSeattle MarinersOF
1978Bob HornerAtlanta Braves3B
1977Harold BainesChicago White Sox 1B
1976Floyd BannisterHouston AstrosLHP
1975Danny GoodwinCalifornia AngelsC
1974Bill AlmonSan Diego PadresSS
1973David ClydeTexas RangersLHP
1972Dave RobertsSan Diego Padres3B
1971Danny GoodwinChicago White SoxC
1970Mike IvieSan Diego PadresC
1969Jeff BurroughsWashington SenatorsOF
1968Tim FoliNew York MetsSS
1967Ron BlombergNew York Yankees1B
1966Steven ChilcottNew York MetsC
1965Ricky MondayKansas City AthleticsOF

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.