Skip to content
en-us GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. MLB

MLB Cy Young Award: Winners, trophy, when is it awarded?

All you need to know about MLB's Cy Young Award, including past winners, when the award is announced, and more.

MLB Cy Young Award Winners

YearAmerican League winnerNational League Winner
2023Gerrit ColeBlake Snell
2022Justin VerlanderSandy Alcantara
2021Robbie RayCorbin Burnes
2020Shane BieberTrevor Bauer
2019Justin VerlanderJacob deGrom
2018Blake SnellJacob deGrom
2017Corey KluberMax Scherzer
2016Rick PorcelloMax Scherzer
2015Dallas KeuchelJake Arrieta
2014Corey KluberClayton Kershaw
2013Max ScherzerClayton Kershaw
2012David PriceRA Dickey
2011Justin VerlanderClayton Kershaw
2010Felix HernandezRoy Halladay
2009Zack GreinkeTim Lincecum
2008Cliff LeeTim Lincecum
2007CC SabathiaJake Peavy
2006Johan SantanaBrandon Webb
2005Bartolo ColonChris Carpenter
2004Johan SantanaRoger Clemens
2003Roy HalladayEric Gagne
2002Barry ZitoRandy Johnson
2001Roger ClemensRandy Johnson
2000Pedro MartinezRandy Johnson
1999Pedro MartinezRandy Johnson
1998Roger ClemensTom Glavine
1997Roger ClemensPedro Martinez
1996Pat HentgenJohn Smoltz
1995Randy JohnsonGreg Maddux
1994David ConeGreg Maddux
1993Jack McDowellGreg Maddux
1992Dennis EckersleyGreg Maddux
1991Roger ClemensTom Glavine
1990Bob WelchDoug Drabek
1989Bret SaberhagenMark Davis
1988Frank ViolaOrel Hershiser
1987Roger ClemensSteve Bedrosian
1986Roger ClemensMike Scott
1985Bret SaberhagenDwight Gooden
1984Willie HernandezRick Sutcliffe
1983LaMarr HoytJohn Denny
1982Pete VuckovichSteve Carlton
1981Rollie FingersFernando Valenzuela
1980Steve StoneSteve Carlton
1979Mike FlanaganBruce Sutter
1978Ron GuidryGaylord Perry
1977Sparky LyleSteve Carlton
1976Jim PalmerRandy Jones
1975Jim PalmerTom Seaver
1974Catfish HunterMike Marshall
1973Jim PalmerTom Seaver
1972Gaylord PerrySteve Carlton
1971Vida BlueFergie Jenkins
1970Jim PerryBob Gibson
1969Mike CuellarTom Seaver
1968Denny McLainBob Gibson
1967Jim LonborgMike McCormick
1966Sandy Koufax*Sandy Koufax*
1965Sandy Koufax*Sandy Koufax*
1964Dean Chance*Dean Chance*
1963Sandy Koufax*Sandy Koufax*
1962Don Drysdale*Don Drysdale*
1961Whitey Ford*Whitey Ford*
1960Vern Law*Vern Law*
1959Early Wynn*Early Wynn*
1958Bob Turley*Bob Turley*
1957Warren Spahn*Warren Spahn*
1956Don Newcombe*Don Newcombe*

* = one award for both leagues

When are MLB Cy Young Awards announced?

The Cy Young Award winners are announced around two weeks after the World Series concludes as part of MLB's awards season. In 2023. the winners were announced on Nov. 15.

Who votes on the MLB Cy Young Award?

The Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) votes on the winners of the Cy Young Award. Two writers in each MLB city get to vote, and votes must be submitted before the postseason begins. Voters get a first-, second-, and third-place vote which are worth five, three, and one point respectively. The player with the most points, regardless of the number of first-place votes, wins the award.

MLB Cy Young Award trophy

Winners of the Cy Young Award receive a plaque with a black background that features a hand holding a baseball in the center, with the phrase 'Cy Young Award' across the top.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets

Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.