Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. MLB

MLB All-Star Game: National League gets first win since 2012

The National League broke its nine-game losing streak in the Midsummer Classic, defeating the American League, 3-2, in Tuesday night's All-Star Game.

Colorado Rockies catcher Elias Diaz played hero in the 93rd edition of the MLB All-Star Game, blasting a go-ahead two-run home run in the 8th inning to secure the National League's first win in the game since 2012. 

Diaz was awarded All-Star Game MVP.

Tampa Bay Rays first baseman Yandy Diaz and Toronto Blue Jays shortstop Bo Bichette drove in the runs for the American League, while Miami Marlins sensation Luis Arraez had the sole RBI for the NL before Diaz's long ball.

A total of 39 position players and 20 pitchers took part in the game from T-Mobile Park in Seattle, Washington. 

Continue reading for all you need to know about the MLB All-Star Game, including 2024 schedule and location, as well as the history of the 'Midsummer Classic.'

Who plays in the MLB All-Star Game?

The MLB All-Star Game is contested by the two leagues, the American League and National League, with the best players selected from teams from the respective leagues. A total of 32 players are selected per league - 20 position players and 12 pitchers per side.

How are the teams decided for the MLB All-Star Game?

The MLB All-Star teams are decided by a combination of fan voting, player voting, and commissioner's office selections.

Fan voting: Fans vote for the starting lineups for the American League (AL) and National League (NL) teams. The fan vote counts for 50% of the total vote.

Player voting: Players vote for the reserves and pitchers for each league. The player vote counts for 25% of the total vote.

Commissioner's office selections: The commissioner's office selects six additional players in each league (four pitchers and two position players). These selections are made to ensure that every team is represented by at least one All-Star.

In addition to the starters and reserves, there is also a Final Vote. This is a fan vote to determine one additional player for each league. The Final Vote is held after the rosters have been announced.

When is the 2024 MLB All-Star Game?

The MLB All-Star Game is the highlight of the MLB All Star break's festivities, which include the Home Run Derby.

The 2024 MLB All-Star Game will take place on Tuesday, July 16th, 2024.

Where is the 2024 MLB All-Star Game?

The 2024 MLB All-Star Game will take place at Globe Life Field, the home park of the Texas Rangers.

Can I watch the MLB All-Star Game?

The MLB All-Star Game will be shown live on FOX in the United States. 

How many times has the MLB All-Star Game taken place?

The MLB All-Star Game has taken place 93 times since its first edition in 1933.

Who has won the MLB All-Star Game on the most occasions?

The National League were the dominant force in the MLB All-Star Game for many years, in the mid-90s they had won 14 games more than the American League but recently the American League have come to dominate the game.

The AL had won nine All-Star Games in a row until 2023, and since 1996 have won 21 of the last 25 editions of the Midsummer Classic.

In previous year's the winner of the All-Star Game would get homefield advantage in the World Series, although this is no longer the case.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.