Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. College Sports
  2. NCAAB

John Wooden Award favorites: Zach Edey favored to repeat

The John R. Wooden Award is the most prestigious individual award in College Basketball, awarded to the nation's best player after each season.

The 2023/24 men’s college basketball season is approaching championship season, and Purdue’s Zach Edey is on the verge of making history. The senior center has a commanding lead in the race to win the Wooden Award.

Edey won the award last year after leading Purdue to both the Big 10 regular season and conference tournament championships, as well as a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Tournament.

He could become just the second player in the award’s 46-year history, after Houston’s Ralph Sampson in 1982 and 1983, to win it twice.

Below is a look at all the current favorites to win the 2023/24 John Wooden Award.

2023/24 John R. Wooden Award odds

Zach Edey-750
Dalton Knecht+2000
RJ Davis+2500
Hunter Dickinson+2800
Kyle Filipowski+3300
Armando Bacot+5000

Zach Edey -750

Edey is a heavy favorite to secure his second straight Wooden Award in 2023/24. He has led the Boilermakers to a 21-2 record and No. 2 national ranking this season.

He is leading Purdue in points (23.1), rebounds (11.7) and blocks (2.3) and is shooting 63.5% from the field.

Dalton Knecht +2000

The Tennessee Volunteers are 16-5 and ranked sixth in the nation, and star senior guard Dalton Knecht is a big reason why.

Knecht leads the team in scoring with 19.9 points a game, and he’s making his three-point attempts at a 39.1 percent rate.

RJ Davis +2500

North Carolina point guard RJ Davis has led the resurgent Tar Heels to a 18-4 start and the No. 3 ranking in the nation.

Davis leads the team in scoring and steals with 21.5 points and 1.3 steals per game, while he’s second on the team in assists with 3.4 per contest. Plus, he is 11th in the country in free throw shooting percentage (92.1%) and he is hitting 41.1 percent of his attempts from three-point range.

Hunter Dickinson +2800

Kansas center Hunter Dickinson has led the fourth-ranked Jayhawks to a 18-5 record. He is second on the team with 18.9 points, while leading in rebounding (11.1) and blocks (1.3).

He’s also shooting 35.4 percent from beyond the arc and has added two assists a game for Kansas.

Kyle Filipowski +3300

Duke is 16-5, ranked ninth in the nation, and sophomore center Kyle Filipowski is a big reason why.

The reigning ACC Rookie of the Year is averaging 17.7 points, 8.5 rebounds, 2.8 assists, 1.1 steals, and 1.8 blocks. He leads the team in points, rebounds, and blocks, and he has scored at least 25 points in six games this season, including back in November against Arizona.

Armando Bacot +4500

Armando Bacot is scoring 13.9 points and grabbing a team-leading 9.9 rebounds a game to help lead the 18-4 Tar Heels to their current No. 3 ranking.

The graduate student center is also leading the team with 1.8 blocks a game. He scored 25 points with 10 rebounds and five assists in a win over Duke in February.

Odds mentioned in this article were correct at the time of writing and are subject to change.

John Wooden Award past winners

2022/23Zach EdeyPurdue
2021/22Oscar TshiebweKentucky
2020/21Luka GarzaIowa
2019/20Obi ToppinDayton
2018/19Zion WilliamsonDuke
2017/18Jalen BrunsonVillanova
2016/17Frank Mason IIIKansas
2015/16Buddy HieldOklahoma
2014/15Frank KaminskyWisconsin
2013/14Doug McDermottCreighton
2012/13Trey BurkeMichigan
2011/12Anthony DavisKentucky
2010/11Jimmer FredetteBYU
2009/10Evan TurnerOhio State
2008/09Blake GriffinOklahoma
2007/08Tyler HansbroughNorth Carolina
2006/07Kevin DurantTexas
2005/06JJ RedickDuke
2004/05Andrew BogutUtah
2003/04Jameer NelsonSaint Joseph's
2002/03TJ FordTexas
2001/02Jason WilliamsDuke
2000/01Shane BattierDuke
1999/00Kenyon MartinCincinnati
1998/99Elton BrandDuke
1997/98Antawn JamisonNorth Carolina
1996/97Tim DuncanWake Forest
1995/96Marcus CambyUMass
1994/95Ed O'BannonUCLA
1993/94Glenn RobinsonPurdue
1992/93Calbert CheanyIndiana
1991/92Christian LaettnerDuke
1990/91Larry JohnsonUNLV
1989/90Lionel SimmonsLa Salle
1988/89Sean ElliottArizona
1987/88Danny ManningKansas
1986/87David RobinsonNavy
1985/86Walter BerrySt. John's
1984/85Chris MullinSt. John's
1983/84Michael JordanNorth Carolina
1982/83Ralph SampsonVirginia
1981/82Ralph SampsonVirginia
1980/81Danny AingeBYU
1979/80Darrell GriffithLouisville
1978/79Larry BirdIndiana State
1977/78Phil FordNorth Carolina
1976/77Marques JohnsonUCLA

John Wooden Award trophy

The Wooden Award trophy features five bronze figures that depict each of the five skills that John Wooden said a total basketball player must have: rebounding, passing, shooting, dribbling, and defense. The base of the trophy is made out of walnut, and the trophy weighs 25 pounds in total.

John Wooden Award announcement

The winner of the 2024 Wooden Award is expected to be announced following the end of the NCAA Tournament in early April.

John Wooden Award voting

The media and fans can vote on the Wooden Award winner. Fans can vote through the award's website, while nearly 1,000 media members - representing all 50 states - vote on the award.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.