Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Golf
  2. PGA Tour

The Sentry: Schedule, course, players, how to watch, and more

The 2024 PGA Tour season kicks off in Hawaii on January 4 for The Sentry, which will see a tournament-record field of 59 players battling it out for victory.

After a decade of wraparound scheduling, the US circuit reverts to a calendar-year structure and the new campaign begins with a bang on the Plantation Course at Kapalua Resort.

No less than 59 players are eyeing glory in the first of eight Signature Events on the PGA Tour this season, with world number one Scottie Scheffler the favorite to claim the spoils.

Having been named the Sentry Tournament of Champions from 2018-2023, the decision to include the top-50 finishers in the FedEx Cup standings, along with the 2023 PGA Tour winners, resulted in organisers dropping Tournament of Champions from the name.

WhatThe Sentry
WherePlantation Course, Kapalua Resort, Hawaii
WhenThursday, January 4 - Sunday, January 7
How to watchGolf Channel, NBC, Peacock & ESPN+
OddsScottie Scheffler +500, Viktor Hovland +800, Collin Morikawa +1100, Ludvig Aberg +1400, Patrick Cantlay +1400, Max Homa +1400

Read more: Scottie Scheffler golfer profile

The Sentry 2024 schedule

The Sentry will run from Thursday, January 4 to Sunday, January 7. There is no cut for this event with all 59 players competing across the four rounds, barring any withdrawals.

The Sentry course

Unlike most PGA Tour events, The Plantation Course at Kapalua Resort is a par-73 that measures 7,596 yards. There are four par-fives, 11 par-fours and three par-threes to negotiate.

Cameron Smith holds the 72-hole record for this event when shooting -34 (258) en route to victory in 2022, fending off eventual 2023 champion Jon Rahm by one stroke.

Rahm, Justin Thomas and Matt Jones are the joint-holders of the 18-hole course record, with the trio all carding rounds of 61 during the 2022 tournament.

The Sentry players

2024 Field

Ludvig AbergNick HardyJ.T. Poston
Byeong Hun AnBrian HarmanSeamus Power
Akshay BhatiaTyrrell HattonAndrew Putnam
Keegan BradleyRussell HenleyDavis Riley
Sam BurnsLee HodgesPatrick Rodgers
Patrick CantlayTom HogeJustin Rose
Wyndham ClarkMax HomaXander Schauffele
Eric ColeViktor HovlandScottie Scheffler
Corey ConnersMackenzie HughesAdam Schenk
Cam DavisSungjae ImJordan Spieth
Jason DaySi Woo KimSepp Straka
Nico EchavarriaTom KimAdam Svensson
Harris EnglishChris KirkNick Taylor
Tony FinauKurt KitayamaSahith Theegala
Matt FitzpatrickLuke ListBrendon Todd
Tommy FleetwoodHideki MatsuyamaErik van Rooyen
Rickie FowlerDenny McCarthyCamilo Villegas
Lucas GloverTaylor MooreMatt Wallace
Emiliano GrilloCollin MorikawaCameron Young
Adam HadwinVincent Norrman 

How to watch The Sentry

The Sentry will be broadcast on Golf Channel and NBC, while Peacock & ESPN+ is offering streaming coverage online.

The Sentry prize money and purse

Purse - $20million

1st $3,600,000.00  2nd $2,160,000.003rd $1,360,000.00
4th $975,000.005th $815,000.006th $735,000.00
7th $682,500.008th $630,000.009th $590,000.00
10th $550,000.0011th $510,000.0012th $470,000.00
13th $430,000.0014th $390,000.0015th $370,000.00
16th $350,000.0017th $330,000.0018th $310,000.00
19th $290,000.0020th $270,000.0021st $252,000.00
22nd $236,000.0023rd $220,000.0024th $204,000.00
25th $188,000.0026th $172,000.0027th $165,000.00
28th $158,000.0029th $151,000.0030th $144,000.00
31st $137,000.0032nd $130,000.0033rd $123,000.00
34th $118,000.0035th $113,000.0036th $108,000.00
37th $103,000.0038th $98,000.0039th $94,000.00
40th $90,000.0041st $86,000.0042nd $82,000.00
43rd $78,000.0044th $74,000.0045th $70,000.00
46th $66,000.0047th $64,000.0048th $62,000.00
49th $60,000.0050th $58,000.0051st $57,000.00
52nd $56,000.0053rd $55,000.0054th $54,000.00
55th $53,000.0056th $52,000.0057th $51,000.00
58th $50,500.0059th $50,000.00 

The Sentry history

Known originally as the Tournament of Champions, this event debuted back in 1953 when Al Besselink finished one stroke ahead of fellow American Chandler Harper, picking up a cheque for $10,000.

Jon Rahm is the most recent champion, having claimed the spoils in 2023 for the first time after finishing runner-up in 2018 and 2022, but he won't be back to defend his crown after making the switch to LIV Golf.

Jack Nicklaus is the record five-time winner of this tournament, the last of those successes came in 1977, while Gene Littler, Arnold Palmer, Tom Watson and Stuart Appleby have all lifted the trophy three times.

The two-time champions are Frank Beard, Don January, Gary Player, Lanny Wadkins, Tom Kite, Steve Elkington, Phil Mickelson, Tiger Woods, Geoff Ogilvy, Dustin Johnson and Justin Thomas.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.