Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Golf
  2. PGA Tour

The American Express golf: Schedule, course, players, how to watch, and more

The American Express golf tournament was established in 1960 and has undergone a number of name changes and a few format tweaks over the years.

Having been previously known as the Palm Springs Desert Golf Classic, Bob Hope Classic, CareerBuilder Challenge and other iterations since the tournament's inception in 1960, the current name, used for sponsorship reasons, is The American Express.

Another star-studded field of 156 professionals will be battling it out for glory in the 2024 edition, which will once again be played across three courses at PGA West - La Quinta Country Club, Pete Dye Stadium Course and the Nicklaus Tournament Course.

Joining the pros in the field for the first three rounds will be 156 amateurs.

WhatThe 2024 American Express
WherePGA West, California - La Quinta Country Club, Pete Dye Stadium Course, Nicklaus Tournament Course
WhenThursday, January 18 - Sunday, January 21
How to watchGolf Channel, Peacock, ESPN+
OddsScottie Scheffler +600, Patrick Cantlay +850, Xander Schauffele +1000, Sungjae Im +2000, Justin Thomas +2200

The American Express 2024 schedule

The American Express will run from Thursday, January 18th to Sunday, January 21st, with the professionals and amateurs all competing at all three courses over the first three rounds.

A 54-hole cut will then be made for the top-65 and ties for the professionals, with the last 18 holes being played at the Pete Dye Stadium Course.

The American Express course

The American Express is played over three different courses for the first three rounds at PGA West, California.

The three courses are:

  • La Quinta Country Club - Par 72, 7,060 yards
  • Pete Dye Stadium Course - Par 72, 7,187 yards
  • Nicklaus Tournament Course - Par 72, 7,147 yards

The 72-hole tournament record is held by American Patrick Reed, who shot 260 when winning the title in 2014.

Before the event changed from a 90-hole format in 2012, Joe Durant had the 90-hole record when shooting 324 in his title-winning year of 2001.

The American Express 2024 players

World number one Scottie Scheffler will be making his fifth American Express appearance and he is the +600 favorite to lift the trophy for the first time, ahead of compatriots Patrick Cantlay (+850) and Xander Schauffele (+1000).

Justin Thomas was seventh here back in 2015 and he is +2200 to claim the spoils, while South Korean pair of Sungjae Im and Tom Kim are priced at +2000 and +2500 respectively.

Australian Min Woo Lee is making his tournament debut and is available at +2800, while the US pair of Tony Finau and Sam Burns are +3500 and +3300 respectively.

How to watch The American Express

All four rounds of The American Express will be broadcast on the Golf Channel, with streaming available on Peacock and ESPN+.

The American Express prize money and purse

 Purse - $8.4million 
1st $1,512,0002nd $915,6003rd $579,600
4th $411,6005th $344,4006th $304,500
7th $283,5008th $262,5009th $245,700
10th $228,90011th $212,10012th $195,300
13th $178,50014th $161,70015th $153,300
16th $144,90017th $136,500 18th $128,100
19th $119,70020th $111,30021st $102,900
22nd $94,50023rd $87,78024th $81,060
25th $74,34026th $67,62027th $65,100
28th $62,58029th $60,06030th $57,540
31st $55,02032nd $52,50033rd $49,980
34th $47,88035th $45,78036th $43,680
37th $41,58038th $39,90039th $38,220
40th $36,54041st $34,86042nd $33,180
43rd $31,50044th $29,82045th $28,140
46th $26,46047th $24,78048th $23,436
49th $22,26050th $21,58851st $21,084
52nd $20,58053rd $20,24454th $19,908
55th $19,74056th $19,57257th $19,404
58th $19,23659th $19,06860th $18,900
61st $18,73262nd $18,56463rd $18,396
64th $18,22865th $18,060 

The American Express history

Starting out as the Palm Springs Desert Golf Classic in 1960, this tournament has also been called the Palm Springs Golf Classic (1961-64), Bob Hope Desert Classic (1965-83), Bob Hope Classic (1984-85), Bob Hope Chrysler Classic (1986-2008) and the Bob Hope Classic (2009-2011).

Each event during those years was played over 90 holes at four different courses and had a celebrity pro-am, with entertainer Bob Hope the host from 1965 until 2011.

It was not until 2012 when the tournament reverted to the traditional four-round format (72 holes) and also decided to ditch the celebrity pro-am, while there was another name change to the Humana Challenge (2012-2015).

Another name change came about in 2016 when the CareerBuilder Challenge was announced and this lasted for three years before the event was renamed the Desert Classic for one year in 2019.

The American Express has been the tournament name since 2020, while the current three-course selection of La Quinta Country Club, Pete Dye Stadium Course and the Nicklaus Tournament Course have been used since 2016.

Arnold Palmer is the five-time record winner, triumphing in 1960, 1962, 1968, 1971 and 1973, while Billy Casper, John Cook, Bill Haas, John Mahaffey, Phil Mickelson, Johnny Miller, Corey Pavin, Hudson Swafford and Jon Rahm have all won twice.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.