Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Waialae Country Club
  1. Golf
  2. PGA Tour

Sony Open in Hawaii: Schedule, course, players, how to watch, and more

The Sony Open in Hawaii is part of the PGA Tour's opening drive and a star-studded field will be battling it out for glory in the 2024 edition at Waialae Country Club, Honolulu, Hawaii.

No less than 144 players will be teeing it up over the first two rounds before the top 65 and ties then make it through to the weekend at the halfway cut stage. 

First debuting back in 1965 as the Hawaiian Open, the Sony Open in Hawaii organizers may also invite up to three professional golfers from emerging markets to compete each year.

WhatSony Open in Hawaii 2024
WhereWaialae Country Club, Honolulu, Hawaii
WhenThursday, January 11 - Sunday, January 14
How to watchGolf Channel & Peacock
OddsLudvig Aberg +1600, Matt Fitzpatrick +1800, Tyrell Hatton +1800, Russell Henley +2000, Brian Harman +2000

Sony Open 2024 schedule

The Sony Open in Hawaii will run from Thursday, January 11 to Sunday, January 14, with the halfway cut reducing the 144-player field to the top 65 and ties.

Sony Open course

Waialae Country Club, Honolulu, Hawaii has been the home of the tournament's home since its inception in 1965, with the par-70 course measuring 7,044 yards (6,441metres). There are 12 par-fours, two par-fives and four par-threes to negotiate.

American Justin Thomas holds the aggregate tournament record score at 253, which he recorded when romping to a seven-shot victory back in 2017, while he also has the leading 18-hole (59), 36-hole (123) and 56-hole (188) records.

The tournament record score to par belongs to seven-time PGA Tour winner John Huston, who lifted the trophy in 1998 when finishing on -28.

The biggest winning margin is two-time champion Jimmy Walker's nine-stroke triumph in 2015.

Sony Open 2024 field

Swedish sensation Ludvig Aberg is the +1600 favorite to claim the spoils, narrowly ahead of English pair Matt Fiztpatrick and Tyrrell Hatton, who are both +1800.

Reigning Open champion Brian Harman is +2000 to land his first win since triumphing at Hoylake, with his fellow American Russell Henley +2000.

Eric Cole, fresh off a brilliant final round at The Sentry on Sunday, is priced at +2500, with The Sentry champion Chris Kirk +2500 to make it two wins on the bounce.

Sahith Theegala, who was second last week, is available at +3000, while Will Zalatoris is +5000.

How to watch the Sony Open

All four rounds of the Sony Open in Hawaii will be broadcast on the Golf Channel, while the action can also be streamed on Peacock.

Sony Open prize money and purse

 Purse - $8.3million 
1st $1,494,0002nd $904,7003rd $572,700
4th $406,7005th $340,3006th $300,875
7th $280,1258th $259,3759th $242,775
10th $226,17511th $209,57512th $192,975
13th $176,37514th $159,77515th $151,475
16th $143,17517th $134,87518th $126,575
19th $118,27520th $109,97521st $101,675
22nd $93,37523rd $86,73524th $80,095
25th $73,45526th $66,81527th $64,325
28th $61,83529th $59,34530th $56,855
31st $54,36532nd $51,87533rd $49,385
34th $47,31035th $45,23536th $43,160
37th $41,08538th $39,42539th $37,765
41st $34,44542nd $32,78543rd $31,125
44th $29,46545th $27,80546th $26,145
47th $24,48548th $23,15749th $21,995
50th $21,33151st $20,83352nd $20,335
53rd $20,00354th $19,67155th $19,505
56th $19,33957th $19,17358th $19,007
59th $18,84160th $18,67561st $18,509
62nd $18,34363rd $18,17764th $18,011
65th $17,845  

Sony Open in Hawaii history

Originally known as the Hawaiian Open, this tournament made its inaugural appearance in 1965 when American Gay Brewer edged out compatriot Bob Goalby in a playoff. 

Having been renamed the United Hawaiian Open and then the United Airlines Hawaiian Open, the event has been the Sony Open in Hawaii since 1999 when Jeff Sluman claimed the spoils. 

Si-woo Kim picked up the title for the first time in 2023, holding off American Hayden Buckley by one shot to become just the second South Korean to triumph here, after K.J. Choi in 2008. 

There have been only five multiple winners of this event, with Hubert Green the first to accomplish this feat when landing back-to-back titles in 1978 and 1979. 

Corey Pavin (1986, 1987), Lanny Wadkins (1988, 1991), Ernie Els (2003, 2004) and Jimmy Walker (2014, 2015) are the other four players in this elite category.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.