Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Golf
  2. PGA Tour

FedEx Cup Playoffs: 2024 schedule, format, history & prize money

The FedEx Cup Playoffs are a series of three events, played after the PGA Tour regular season in August, to determine the FedExCup Champion.

There have been tweaks made to the format over the years along with bigger prize pots, making this one of the most lucrative tournament stretches in the world of golf.

FedEx Cup Playoffs significance

The FedEx Cup Playoffs are the final three events in the season-long race to be crowned FedEx Cup champion on the PGA Tour.

The winner of the Tour Championship, the last of those three tournaments, will also claim the FedEx Cup trophy and the $18 million prize.

FedEx Cup Playoffs date

The Playoffs take place in August at the end of the regular season and are played over a three-week stretch, starting with the FedEx St. Jude Championship at TPC Southwind, Memphis from August 12th to 18th, 2024.

It's then on to the second event, the BMW Championship, which is rotated around different courses and, in 2024, will take place at Castle Pines Golf Club in Castle Rock, Colorado from August 19th to 24th, 2024.

The Tour Championship is held at East Lake Golf Club, Atlanta and will run from August 28th to September 1st, 2024.

FedEx Cup Playoffs format

The format has changed since the first FedEx Cup in 2007, with one of the alterations coming in 2019 when the number of playoff events was reduced from four to three.

In 2023, a further tweak was made to the number of players that qualified for the first of the three events, with only the top 70 players in the FedEx Cup standings able to compete, down from the previous quota of 125.

After the first playoff event, the FedEx St. Jude Invitational, the leading 50 players in the FedEx standings will then compete in the BMW Championship.

Following the conclusion of the BMW, the top 30 players will then compete in the Tour Championship at East Lake Golf Club. All three playoffs events have no cut.

The format for the Tour Championship is a staggered, strokes-based system that represents the final FedEx Cup standings, recognizing players for their Regular Season performance as well as their play in the first two playoff tournaments.

If any of the 30 players are unable to play at the Tour Championship, they will not be replaced in the field.

Below is a detailed list of the handicap system used.

SeedingStarting Stroke

All 70 qualifiers for the playoffs earn an exemption for the following season, while the 50 qualifiers for the BMW will earn entry into limited-field signature events in the following year.

Unlike previous seasons which had the FedEx Cup Playoffs mark the end of the PGA Tour campaign, the changes made in 2023 means there is now a Fall Series to look forward to.

This series includes seven official PGA Tour tournaments that will see players who finish outside the top 70 in the FedEx Cup regular-season standings compete to retain their playing privileges.

At the conclusion of the Fall Series, the top 125 on the FedEx Cup Fall Points List will retain their cards and be exempt into all Full-Field events the following year.

FedEx Cup Playoffs prize money & purse information

The FedEx St. Jude Championship and the BMW Championship both have a $20 million purse on offer with quadruple FedEx Cup points also up for grabs. The winner of each event will receive $3.6 million and 2,000 points.

As for the Tour Championship, the winner at East Lake will land the $18 million FedEx Cup bonus and receive a five-year Tour exemption, while the runner-up will receive a check for $6.5 million.

The 30 competitors that qualify for Atlanta will earn at least $500,000.

FedEx Cup Playoffs history and past winners

As mentioned, Woods won the first-ever FedEx Cup in 2007 before claiming the spoils again in 2009, coming 12 months after Vijay Singh's triumph in 2008.

Northern Irishman McIlroy is the most successful player of all-time in the FedEx Cup, winning it for a record third time in 2022.

2023Viktor Hovland
2022Rory McIlroy
2021Patrick Cantlay
2020Dustin Johnson
2019Rory McIlroy
2018Justin Rose
2017Justin Thomas
2016Rory McIlroy
2015Jordan Spieth
2014Billy Horschel
2013Henrik Stenson
2012Brandt Snedeker
2011Bill Haas
2010Jim Furyk
2009Tiger Woods
2008Vijay Singh
2007Tiger Woods

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.