Skip to content
en-us GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. NFL
  2. NFL Draft

NFL Draft: Every No. 1 pick

The 2023 NFL Draft saw QB Bryce Young selected first overall by the Carolina Panthers, becoming the seventh quarterback in the last nine years to go No. 1.

A record-breaking 35 quarterbacks have been taken first in the history of the NFL Draft, with seven of the last nine No. 1 picks being QBs.

Here's the list of previous No. 1 draft picks from Jay Berwanger all the way back in 1936 to Bryce Young in 2023.


1936Jay BerwangerHBChicagoPhiladelphia Eagles
1937Sam FrancisFBNebraskaPhiladelphia Eagles
1938Corbett DavisFBIndianaCleveland Rams
1939KI AldrichCTCUChicago Cardinals


1940George CafegoHBTennesseeChicago Cardinals
1941Tom HarmonHBMichiganChicago Bears
1942Bill DudleyHBVirginiaPittsburgh Steelers
1943Frank SinkwichHBGeorgiaDetroit Lions
1944Angelo BertelliQBNotre DameBoston Yanks
1945Charley TrippiHBGeorgiaChicago Cardinals
1946Frank DancewiczQBNotre DameBoston Yanks
1947Bob FenimoreHBOklahoma A&MChicago Bears
1948Harry GilmerHB, WRAlabamaWashington Redskins
1949Chuck BednarikC, LBPennPhiladelphia Eagles


1950Leon HartENotre DameDetroit Lions
1951Kyle RoteHBSMUNew York Giants
1952Bill WadeQBVanderbiltLos Angeles Rams
1953Harry BabcockEGeorgiaSan Francisco 49ers
1954Bobby GarrettQBStanfordCleveland Browns
1955George ShawQBOregonBaltimore Colts
1956Gary GlickDBColorado A&MPittsburgh Steelers
1957Paul HornungHBNotre DameGreen Bay Packers
1958King HillQBRiceChicago Cardinals
1959Randy DuncanQBIowaGreen Bay Packers


1960Billy CannonHBLSULos Angeles Rams
1961Tommy MasonHBTulaneMinnesota Vikings
1962Ernie DavisHBSyracuseWashington Redskins
1963Terry BakerQBOregon StateLos Angeles Rams
1964Dave ParksWRTexas TechSan Francisco 49ers
1965Tucker FredericksonHBAuburnNew York Giants
1966Tommy NobisLBTexasAtlanta Falcons
1967Bubba SmithDEMichigan StateBaltimore Colts
1968Ron YaryTUSCMinnesota Vikings
1969O. J. SimpsonHBUSCBuffalo Bills


1970Terry BradshawQBLouisiana TechPittsburgh Steelers
1971Jim PlunkettQBStanfordNew England Patriots
1972Walt PatulskiDENotre DameBuffalo Bills
1973John MatuszakDETampaHouston Oilers
1974Ed JonesDETennessee StateDallas Cowboys
1975Steve BartkowskiQBCaliforniaAtlanta Falcons
1976Lee Roy SelmonDEOklahomaTampa Bay Buccaneers
1977Ricky BellHBUScTampa Bay Buccaneers
1978Earl CampbellHBTexasHouston Oilers
1979Tom CousineauLBOhio StateBuffalo Bills


1980Billy SimsHBOklahomaDetroit Lions
1981George RogersHBSouth CarolinaNew Orleans Saints
1982Kenneth SimsDETexasNew England Patriots
1983John ElwayQBStanfordBaltimore Colts
1984Irving FryarWRNebraskaNew England Patriots
1985Bruce SmithDEVirginia TechBuffalo Bills
1986Bo JacksonHBAuburnTampa Bay Buccaneers
1987Vinny TestaverdeQBMiami (FL?Tampa Bay Buccaneers
1988Aundray BruceLBAuburnAtlanta Falcons
1989Troy AikmanQBUCLADallas Cowboys


1990Jeff GeorgeQBIllinoisIndianapolis Colts
1991Russell MarylandDTMiami (FL)Dallas Cowboys
1992Steve EmtmanDEWashingtonIndianapolis Colts
1993Drew BledsoeQBWashington StateNew England Patriots
1994Dan WilkinsonDTOhio StateCincinnati Bengals
1995Ki-Jana CarterHBPenn StateCincinnati Bengals
1996Keyshawn JohnsonWRUSCNew York Jets
1997Orlando PaceTOhio StateSt. Louis Rams
1998Peyton ManningQBTennesseeIndianapolis Colts
1999Tim CouchQBKentuckyCleveland Browns


2000Courtney BrownDEPenn StateCleveland Browns
2001Michael VickQBVirginia TechAtlanta Falcons
2002David CarrQBFresno StateHouston Texans
2003Carson PalmerQBUSCCincinnati Bengals
2004Eli ManningQBOle MissSan Diego Chargers
2005Alex SmithQBUtahSan Francisco 49ers
2006Mario WilliamsDENorth Carolina StateHouston Texans
2007JaMarcus RussellQBLSUOakland Raiders
2008Jake LongTMichiganMiami Dolphins
2009Matthew StaffordQBGeorgiaDetroit Lions


2010Sam BradfordQBOklahomaSt. Louis Rams
2011Cam NewtonQBAuburnCarolina Panthers
2012Andrew LuckQBStanfordIndianapolis Colts
2013Eric FisherTCentral MichiganKansas City Chiefs
2014Jadeveon ClowneyDESouth CarolinaHouston Texans
2015Jameis WinstonQBFlorida StateTampa Bay Buccaneers
2016Jared GoffQBCaliforniaLos Angeles Rams
2017Myles GarrettDETexas A&MCleveland Browns
2018Baker MayfieldQBOklahomaCleveland Browns
2019Kyler MurrayQBOklahomaArizona Cardinals


2020Joe BurrowQBLSUCincinnati Bengals
2021Trevor LawrenceQBClemsonJacksonville Jaguars
2022Travon WalkerDEGeorgiaJacksonville Jaguars
2023Bryce YoungQBAlabamaCarolina Panthers

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets

Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.