Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Golf

Presidents Cup - Golf: All you need to know

With the regular PGA Tour season now behind us, all eyes will be on Quail Hollow Club, which will host the 2022 Presidents Cup.

Davis Love III will captain this year's USA team, and he will hope to outsmart Trevor Immelman, who skippers the International team in Charlotte, North Carolina.

What2022 Presidents Cup
WhereQuail Hollow Club, Charlotte, North Carolina
WhenSeptember 22-25th 2022
How to watchSky Sports Golf
OddsUSA 5/16, Internationals 16/5, Tie 14/1

When is the Presidents Cup?

The 2022 Presidents Cup will get underway on Thursday 22nd September, and fans can watch four days of action before the event comes to a close on Sunday 25th September.

Where is the Presidents Cup?

Quail Hollow Club in Charlotte, North Carolina will host this year's event, and it will be the first time the course has hosted the tournament.

Quail Hollow Club first started hosting events on the PGA Tour in 1969, and it is famous for hosting the Wells Fargo Championship. The 2017 PGA Championship, which Justin Thomas won, was also held at the venue, while the event will return there in 2025.

Can I watch the Presidents Cup?

Sky Sports will host the 2022 Presidents Cup via its dedicated golf channel, while the event is also available on NBC or the Golf Channel.

How many times has the Presidents Cup taken place?

The Presidents Cup has been held on 13 occasions, with the first event taking place in 1994 at Robert Trent Jones Golf Club in Virginia. The biennial event was last held in 2019, with both teams heading Down Under to the Royal Melbourne Golf Club in Australia.

Who has won the Presidents Cup on the most occasions?

The United States have dominated the event since its inception in 1994, thanks to 11 victories. The International Team have only ever won on one occasion, while the 2003 tournament was a tie in South Africa.

How are the Presidents Cup teams selected?

The first eight American players earn automatic qualification based on their FedExCup points from the previous two seasons. The captain of the US team can then pick four players of their own, as can the International team captain.

Related PGA Tour News

PGA Tour - Golf: Five rookies to look out for

The first eight names on the International teamsheet are also selected based on the Official World Golf Rankings, but players who are eligible for the Ryder Cup team are excluded from Presidents Cup qualification.

The competition alternates between venues in the USA and then overseas, and it is a unique event as no purse or prize money is paid to the players. Each competitor allocates an equal portion of their funds to charity instead.

What is the format of the Presidents Cup?

The scoring system for the Presidents Cup is match play. The format is similar to that of the Ryder Cup, with the captain choosing pairs in the doubles events, which consist of fourball and foursome matches.

On Thursday and Friday, there will be five matches in total on each day, while on Saturday, eight four-ball and foursome matches will be split across the morning and afternoon.

On the final day, 12 singles matches will take place between the two sides, and each match is worth one point for a win or half a point for a draw.

Who are the favourites for the Presidents Cup?

The USA remain the overwhelming favourites for this year's event thanks to their dominance in recent years. They were last beaten in 1998, but they have won eight straight President Cup competitions since 2005.

With the majority of Europe's best players unable to feature, Team USA often have the upper hand, and they will be expected to get the job done at 5/16.

Scottie Scheffler, Patrick Cantlay and Xander Schauffele are their highest-ranked players, but Team USA is stacked with talent, with Tony Finau, Thomas, Jordan Spieth and Collin Morikawa all set to play.

Open champion Cameron Smith is the star of the International Team, while Hideki Matsuyama, Sungjae Im, Joaquin Niemann and Adam Scott will try to secure a surprise victory at 16/5.

What is the record margin of team victory at the Presidents Cup?

The U.S. team won by an incredible 11 points in 2000, thanks to a score of 21.5-10.5. After they lost the 1998 event to the Internationals, the Americans responded in style, and it is a victory that has yet to be beaten 22 years later.

Who is the record points scorer in Presidents Cup history?

Phil Mickelson holds the all-time record for most points tallied in the Presidents Cup with 32.5. "Lefty" will not feature in this year's tournament, but he still holds the all-time record for appearances.

Mickelson has made 12 appearances for his country in the event, and it could be a while before that record is broken.

Has there ever been a hole-in-one at the Presidents Cup?

Remarkably, there has never been a hole-in-one recorded at any of the previous 13 President Cup events.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalized service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet $1 & Get $365 in Bonus Bets Join Now

Deposit required. Bonus Bet winnings are added to Bonus Bets balance. Bonus Bet wager excluded from returns. T&Cs, time limits and exclusions apply.