Skip to content
  1. More Sports & News
  2. Television News

Sports Personality of the Year: All you need to know

Forever a popular slot on the festive TV schedule, Sports Personality of the Year always caps off a stellar year for British sport.

Figures from across the sporting landscape take to the screen in the run-up to Christmas, hoping to be crowned by the voting public.

Over the years, the likes of Emma Raducanu, Lewis Hamilton, Andy Murray, Mo Farah and Geraint Thomas have made their way onto the honours list.

A staple of the calendar since the 1950s, the event is also a celebration of team success, coaching excellence and the hard work of community volunteers.

What: Sports Personality of the Year
Where: Dock10 Studios, Media City, Salford
When: Wednesday 21st December 2022
How to watch: BBC One
Odds: Beth Mead 1/6, Harry Kane 9/1, Marcus Rashford 20/1

What is Sports Personality of the Year?

Sports Personality of the Year is a BBC award given every December to a sportsperson who has performed exceptionally during the year.

The winner is voted for by the public, with the top three contenders all placed. The competition is now running for a 69th year.

Other awards are handed out, such as World Sport Star of the Year, Unsung Hero, Team of the Year, Coach of the Year and a Lifetime Achievement award.

When is Sports Personality of the Year?

Sports Personality of the Year will be taking place on the evening of Wednesday 21st December 2022. It is usually screened on the last Sunday prior to Christmas, but an exception is being made this year for the World Cup final, which takes place on that day.

Where can I watch Sports Personality of the Year?

Sports Personality of the Year will be shown on BBC One and will be available on BBC iPlayer.

Where is Sports Personality of the Year taking place?

The venue for this year's Sports Personality of the Year is Dock10 Studios, Media City, Salford, having been held in Aberdeen, Liverpool and Birmingham in recent years.

Who will host Sports Personality of the Year?

Sports Personality of the Year is set to be hosted by Gary Lineker, Clare Balding, Gabby Logan and Alex Scott.

Who won Sports Personality of the Year in 2021?

Teenage tennis sensation Emma Raducanu won Sports Personality of the Year in 2021 following her US Open win as a qualifier, while diver Tom Daley and swimming's Adam Peaty finished second and third respectively.

The last five winners have all come from different sporting fields: tennis, motorsport, cricket, cycling and athletics.

Who are the contenders for this year's Sports Personality of the Year?

The line-up will be confirmed closer to the time, but several famous faces are set to make the shortlist for the prestigious event in a year full of achievement for British sport.

The England women's football team won the country's first silverware at a major tournament since 1966 with victory in the home European Championships, but that was far from all.

Ben Stokes – Sports Personality of the Year for 2019 – and his captaincy of the England Test cricket team revitalised an ailing side and Ronnie O'Sullivan won a seventh World Snooker Championship, in a year that also saw the Home Nations win a record number of medals at the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham.

The Great Britain women's curling team took gold at the Winter Olympics, golfer Matt Fitzpatrick won the US Open and Cameron Norrie reached the Wimbledon semi-finals.

And with the men's World Cup finishing just days before the event, success for the Three Lions to mirror that of the Lionesses at Wembley over the summer would be sure to throw members of the team, along with their coach, Gareth Southgate, into the mix.

Who is the favourite to win Sports Personality of the Year?

Beth Mead – the Lionesses figure who broke Jimmy Greaves' record of the most goals scored in a season by an England player, while also winning the Golden Boot at the Euros – currently leads the betting market, priced at 1/6 to win the top prize.

England men's captain Harry Kane is at 9/1, ahead of teammates Marcus Rashford (20/1) and Jude Bellingham at 20/1.

Outside shouts include Euro 2022 final-winner Chloe Kelly, at 50/1, with MMA's Paddy Pimblett at 66/1.

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy