Skip to content
  1. US Sports
  2. NFL

NFL Championship 2023: Who will be named MVP?

It is now known that the 2023 NFL Championship will now be contested between the Kansas City Chiefs and the Philadelphia Eagles in February when the two teams head to the State Farm Stadium in Arizona.

The Chiefs got the better of the Cincinnati Bengals on home soil, securing a 23-20 victory at the death. 

Philadelphia, led by MVP favourite Jalen Hurts, enjoyed a relatively easy passage in their NFC Conference Championship clash with the San Francisco 49ers as they ran out 31-7 winners. 

Two of the NFL's best quarterbacks are now competing to win the MVP award, and we take a look at their chances and some other contenders.

What:NFL Championship 2023
Where:State Farm Stadium, Glendale, Arizona
When:23:30, Sunday 12th February
How to watch:Sky Sports & ITV
Odds:KC Chiefs 23/20, PHI Eagles 20/27

Jalen Hurts - 6/5

Philadelphia star Hurts is the favourite to win this year's NFL Championship MVP, and he can make history this year. 

No dual-threat quarterback has ever won the NFL Championship, but Hurts is now within touching distance of winning every award the game can offer. 

Hurts may have only thrown for 121 yards and ran for 39 yards on Sunday against the 49ers, but there was no need for him to exert himself just a few weeks after he recovered from a shoulder injury. 

The Eagles will need Hurts to handle the unique championship game atmosphere, but his performances this season suggest he will savour the occasion.

Patrick Mahomes - 11/8

It is nearly three years since Mahomes won his first big game MVP award when he helped the Chiefs beat the 49ers 31-20 in Miami. 

The Chiefs continue to feature at the business end of the season, and they have reached the NFL Championship game, even with Mahomes carrying an ankle injury. 

Mahomes would usually have watched from the sidelines after suffering a high ankle sprain, but he continues to fight on as he tries to win his second world championship ring. 

Only Hurts is shorter than him in the market, but if he can get back to full fitness, it would take some effort to stop him from winning the award.

Travis Kelce - 17/2

It is not only Hurts that can make history in Arizona, as Chiefs tight end Kelce tries to win the coveted MVP award. 

If he does, he will win the award for the first time, and he will also become the first-ever tight end to do so. 

Do not let that fact put you off, though, Kelce caught seven passes and scored another touchdown during the win over the Bengals, and he continues to set the standard in his position.

Related NFL News

NFL Championship 2023: Start time, how to watch, halftime show & odds

A.J Brown - 12/1

Two wide receivers have won the MVP award in the last four seasons, which is good news for Philadelphia's A.J Brown. 

Brown might not have scored against the 49ers, but he has already scored 11 touchdowns this season, while his 1,496 receiving yards is fourth in the entire NFL. 

Should Hurts not win the award, one of his two receivers have every chance.

Devonta Smith - 25/1

As well as Brown, Hurts has Smith at his disposal, and he has been busy throughout the 2022 campaign. 

Smith's 95 receptions make him 11th in the NFL standings, while, like Brown, he has also secured over 1,000 receiving yards for the campaign. 

Smith only caught two passes against the 49ers, but one of them deserved to win an award in itself.

Miles Sanders - 28/1

No running back has won the MVP award since 1998, and Eagles star Sanders will hope to emulate Terrell Davis, who won the prize when playing for the Denver Broncos. 

Sanders' stats are not that impressive compared to other running backs, but he features in the top 10 for rushing attempts, rushing yards and rushing touchdowns. 

He scored twice during the win over the 49ers, and he seems to be finding his form at the right moment.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy