Skip to content
Sports Stadium
  1. US Sports
  2. NFL

NFL - US Sports: MVP futures to consider

With the NFL regular season approaching, we outlined some MVP futures that may be worth taking prior to Week 1.

The Favorite? QB Josh Allen +700

The Bills Mafia quarterback continues to get better and better with age. He is the first QB in league history with 100+ Passing TDs and 20+ Rushing TDs in his first four seasons.

Allen led the Bills to their second-straight AFC East title and third-straight playoff appearance. Last season’s divisional round loss to the Chiefs was one of the most memorable games in the last decade of the NFL. Both teams combined for 25 points in the last two minutes of regulation, but an 8-yard pass to Travis Kelce sealed the win for the Chiefs in overtime.

The Bills kept most of their offensive core during the offseason, including Stefon Diggs, Gabriel Davis, and Devin Singletary. They were also able to pick up veteran wide receivers Jamison Crowder and Tavon Austin. They remain a force to be reckoned with in the AFC.

Can Aaron Rodgers three-peat as MVP?

The Green Bay QB is currently listed at +900, the third-best odds entering the regular season. After speculation of retirement, Rodgers signed a three-year, $150M extension with the Packers.

In the last two seasons as MVP, Rodgers has thrown for 85 TDs and just 9 INTs, the greatest TD/INT ratio in such a span. However, the Packers offense will look a lot different this season…

Davante Adams, arguably one of the greatest wide receivers in the league, has ended his eight-year stint with Green Bay, joining the Las Vegas Raiders to reunite with his college teammate Derek Carr. To compensate for such a loss, the Packers selected North Dakota State’s Christian Watson in the second round of this year’s draft, while also picking up Sammy Watkins in free agency.

A WR has never won MVP

Since the MVP award began in 1957, a wide receiver has never won the award. Some have gotten close…
1971 Otis Taylor – 13.3% of votes
1987 Jerry Rice – 35.7% of votes
1993 Jerry Rice – 18.5% of votes
1995 Jerry Rice – 11.4% of votes
1998 Randy Moss – 8.5% of votes

Which WR has the best chance this season? Cooper Kupp. Last season, Kupp received 2%!o(string=+4000)f votes, the first wide receiver since 1998 to earn a vote on the ballot. The triple-crown winner is %!s(MISSING) to make history this season!

It’s a new age for Russell Wilson

Russell Wilson has an amazing resume for someone who has never won an MVP award:
- 9x Pro Bowler
- 2015 Passer Rating Leader
- 2017 Passing TD Leader  
- Super Bowl 48 Champion

Now with the Denver Broncos, Wilson has a young offensive core with a ton of potential on his new roster, including Tim Patrick (28), Courtland Sutton (26), Jerry Jeudy (23), and Javonte Williams (22). However, he will have to fight through the AFC West gauntlet that includes the Chiefs, Chargers, and Raiders. If Russell Wilson can lead his team to a playoff berth in his first season in Denver, he has a good chance at +1500 to win his first ever MVP.

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy