Skip to content
  1. US Sports
  2. NFL

NFL MVP: Patrick Mahomes rounds off memorable season with another award

To say that it’s been a good week for Patrick Mahomes would be one of the greatest understatements so far in 2023. 

Over the past seven days, Mahomes was crowned NFL MVP for the second time in his career and first time since 2018.

He then followed that up by leading the Chiefs to a second-half comeback against the Eagles to win NFL Championship 58 and be crowned NFL Championship MVP. On top of that, he also led the NFL in passing yards and passing touchdowns this season.

Mahomes joins elite company

To put all of those amazing achievements into perspective, only three other quarterbacks in the history of the NFL have ever done all of those things – Tom Brady, Peyton Manning and Kurt Warner. And now here we have Mahomes, who has conquered them all in a single season.

When Tyreek Hill left the Chiefs for the Dolphins last summer, there was a lot of concern over whether Kansas City would still be able to compete without their star wide receiver. But the Chiefs’ success this season and 38-35 victory in NFL Championship 58 highlights that Patrick Mahomes is a very special talent and truly deserves to be MVP.

It doesn't matter what group of players you put around him, Mahomes will find a way to get the best out of them and for the Chiefs to continue being a dominant team.

As far as next season goes, Kansas City are 11/2 favourites to win NFL Championship 59 and Mahomes is sure to be amongst the favourites to once again be named MVP. 

Related NFL News

NFL Championship LVII review: Mahomes leads Chiefs to epic win

NFL Championship 2024: Start time, how to watch, halftime show & odds

Going back-to-back may prove tough

It will be difficult for him to win the award again since expectations for the Chiefs will already be sky-high and we all now know how good his rapport with Travis Kelce is.

Aaron Rodgers did go back-to-back in 2020 and 2021, but the last player to do that before him was Brett Favre in 1995-97. In Rodgers' case, though, you could tell that this Packers team would be a lot worse without him at the helm and he was literally carrying them through.

While the same argument could be said for the Chiefs this season when public perception was a lot lower, it will be hard for that same argument to hold up now that they are the defending NFL Championship team.

As far as next year’s MVP award is concerned, Trevor Lawrence could be someone to keep tabs on. 

After he struggled in his first year, Lawrence has completely taken off and managed to drag a struggling Jags team into the playoffs and even through to the divisional round.

Lawrence was putting up insane numbers in the second-half of the season and if he’s capable of carrying that on throughout the 2023 season, then he may be a serious contender for the award if we see more success for Jacksonville, who are 28/1 to win the NFL Championship in 2024.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy