Skip to content
  1. Cricket

IPL: Dates, schedule, history & odds

The Indian Premier League is the most prestigious Twenty20 franchise tournament on the calendar and it attracts the world's most dynamic white-ball cricketers.

Since its inaugural season in 2008, the IPL has showcased the talents of top T20 players from around the globe and propelled a new generation of Indian cricketers to stardom.

In 2022 the competition was expanded to 10 teams and there is no shortage of motivation for players competing in the IPL as the tournament's biggest names can earn multi-million dollar contracts as well as the adulation of a cricket-loving Indian public.

WhatIndian Premier League
WhereMatches will be staged at 12 venues across India
WhenFriday 31st March to Sunday 28th May 2023
How to watchLive on Sky Sports
OddsGujarat Titans 11/2, Mumbai Indians 6/1, Delhi Capitals 6/1, Rajasthan Royals 13/2, Royal Challengers Bangalore 13/2

When is the Indian Premier League?

The Indian Premier League is held each year in India during the months of March, April and May.

The 2023 IPL starts on Friday 31st March when defending champions Gujarat Titans take on Chennai Super Kings in Ahmedabad and the final will be held on Sunday 28th May.

Where is the Indian Premier League?

Each of the 10 Indian Premier League franchises has their own home ground and some of the most iconic cricket stadiums in India play host to IPL matches each season.

Mumbai Indians are based at the Wankhede Stadium, Kolkata Knight Riders play at Eden Gardens and Gujarat Titans welcome visiting teams to the 132,000-capacity Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, which was the venue for the 2022 final.

In 2023 Rajasthan Royals will divide their home fixtures between Jaipur and Guwahati while Punjab Kings are playing in Mohali and Dharamshala.

Can I watch the Indian Premier League?

Cricket fans in the UK can watch every match of the Indian Premier League season on Sky Sports.

How many times has the Indian Premier League taken place?

The Indian Premier League 2023 is the 16th edition of the tournament. It was first held in 2008 when Rajasthan Royals, inspired by Australia legends Shane Warne and Shane Watson, lifted the trophy.

The 2009 tournament was held in South Africa and Dubai staged the IPL finals in 2020 and 2021.

Who has won the Indian Premier League on the most occasions?

Mumbai Indians are the most successful franchise in the history of the Indian Premier League, winning the title in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020, although they finished bottom of the table in 2022, losing 10 of their 14 matches.

All five of Mumbai's successes came under the captaincy of India batsman Rohit Sharma and they have a fierce rivalry with Chennai Super Kings, who have been crowned champions on four occasions.

As well as lifting the trophy in 2010, 2011, 2018 and 2021, Chennai have also finished as runners-up five times and Kolkata Knight Riders, who triumphed in 2012 and 2014, are the only other team to win the IPL more than once.

How does the Indian Premier League work?

After the expansion of the Indian Premier League to 10 teams in 2022, the franchises are split into two groups for the league stage of the competition.

Each franchise plays 14 league fixtures, facing the other four teams in their group once and the five teams in the other group twice, once at home and once away.

Related Cricket News

Women's T20 World Cup: Australia Women v South Africa Women preview: Balance of power lies with holders

International Cricket: Harry Brook continues stunning start to Test career

The top four teams in the league table qualify for the end-of-season play-offs.

The franchises select their squads in lucrative pre-season player auctions and they are permitted to pick a maximum of four overseas players in their matchday 11.

Who are the favourites for the Indian Premier League 2023?

Gujarat Titans claimed the Indian Premier League title in their maiden season in 2022 and they are 11/2 for a successful defence of their crown in 2023.

The Titans face significant competition from five-time winners Mumbai Indians at 6/1 and Delhi Capitals at 6/1 while Rajasthan Royals are 13/2.

The Royals lost the 2022 final to the Titans by seven wickets but they have retained the services of England's T20 World Cup-winning captain Jos Buttler, who was named IPL player of the season in 2022 after scoring 863 runs including four centuries.

Sunrisers Hyderabad, who disappointed in 2021 and 2022 but reached the play-offs in the previous five IPL campaigns, are 11/1 for glory in 2023.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy