Skip to content
  1. Tennis

Davis Cup: Dates, schedule, history & more

Often referred to as the 'World Cup of Tennis', the Davis Cup remains the premier international team event in the men's game, having recently undergone major changes.

It initially started in 1900 as a contest solely between Great Britain and the United States, but this year's finals, which will be the 111th edition of the tournament, will feature 16 nations.

The matches take place on indoor hard courts and are a best-of-three sets format and will be split into two stages.

The groups will be made up of four nations each and played across four venues from 12th to 17th September, with the eight teams that progress reconvening for the finals in the Spanish city of Malaga between 21st and 26th November.

WhatDavis Cup
WhereFinal 8 to be played at the Palacio de Deportes Martin Carpena in Malaga
WhenFinal 8 to be held between Tuesday 21st November and Sunday 26th November
How to watchSports Live Streaming, BBC and Eurosport

Where will the Davis Cup be played?

Having previously been a straight knockout that took place throughout the year, the tournament has now been streamlined, with the 16 teams being split into four-nation pools which will each take place in a different city.

These venues will be confirmed after the group draw on Wednesday 29th March, with the matches to be played between 12th and 17th September, although the scheduling will be left to the discretion of the chosen hosts. However, the Final 8 will be held at the Palacio de Deportes Martin Carpena in Malaga for the second straight year.

The arena held last year's finals, as well as a Davis Cup semi-final in 2003, while it is most commonly used for Basketball, with Liga ACB team Unicaja Malaga calling it home.

When is the Davis Cup taking place?

With the qualifiers having taken place earlier in the year, the 16 nations left will meet in groups of four between Tuesday 12th and Sunday 17th September, where they will play each other once in a round-robin format.

The Final 8 of the Davis Cup will then start on Tuesday 21st November and will run through until the final on Sunday 26th November.

The quarter-finals will be played on Tuesday 21st, Wednesday 22nd and Thursday 23rd November. The semi-finals will then take place on Friday 24th and Saturday 25th, while the final will be on Sunday 26th.

Related Tennis News

Week Ahead: Carlos Alcaraz eyes second Miami title

Miami Open: Five ATP players to watch

Miami Open: Five WTA players to watch

Who has qualified for the Davis Cup?

Australia (2022 Runners-up)

Canada (2022 Champions)

Chile (Qualifer)

Croatia (Qualifier)

Czech Republic (Qualifier)

Finland (Qualifier)

France (Qualifier)

Great Britain (Qualifier)

Italy (Wild card)

Korean Republic (Qualifier)

Netherlands (Qualifier)

Serbia (Qualifier)

Spain (Wild card)

Sweden (Qualifier)

Switzerland (Qualifier)

USA (Qualifier)

What is the format for the Davis Cup?

The 16 nations in the draw on 29th March are made up of 12 teams from the Qualifiers, as well as 2022 champions Canada and the country they beat, Australia.

There are also two wild cards and these are Italy and Spain.

These 16 nations will be drawn into four groups of four and meet in a round-robin format in September, with each nation playing each other once.

The ties will be made up of two singles matches and a doubles rubber played over the best of three sets. The top two from each pool will progress through to the Final 8 in November, where they will follow the same format, albeit in a knockout formula.

Where can I watch the Davis Cup?

Selected rubbers will be shown on bet365's Sports Live Streaming.

The Davis Cup is also available to watch on the BBC, Eurosport and the Tennis Channel.

Who has won the Davis Cup on the most occasions?

The United States have won the most Davis Cup with 32 titles. They won the first tournament in 1900, with their last victory coming against Russia in 2007.

Australia have won the Davis Cup 28 times, while Great Britain and France have both taken the title 10 times.

Who won the last Davis Cup?

The last Davis Cup took place in 2022 and saw Canada win the tournament for the first time.

Their team was made up of Denis Shapovalov, Felix Auger-Aliassime and Vasek Poposil and they beat both Germany and Italy 2-1 in the quarter-finals and semi-finals, respectively.

The Canadians then beat Australia 2-0 in the final, with Shapovalov winning the opening singles rubber against Thanasi Kokkinakis 6-2 6-4 before Auger-Aliassime defeated Alex de Minaur 6-3 6-4.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet €10 & Get €30 in Free Bets

Become a member of the world's favourite online sports betting brand

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.