Skip to content
  1. Cricket
  2. International Cricket

ICC Men's Cricket World Cup: Dates, teams, history & betting odds

The ICC Men's Cricket World Cup is an international competition that sees the world's best teams fight it out in the 50-over format.

The event has a rich history and was first staged back in 1975 when the West Indies overcame Australia in the final at Lord's, while the most recent edition in 2019 witnessed England claim the spoils on home soil.

WhatWorld Cup 2023
WhenOctober-November 2023
How to watchSky Sports Cricket
OddsIndia 11/5, England 3/1, Australia 4/1, Pakistan 7/1, New Zealand 15/2, South Africa 10/1

When is the 2023 ICC Men's Cricket World Cup?

The tournament is set to take place from October-November 2023, although no official start date will be confirmed until qualifying has been completed.

The World Cup was initially set to be held in February-March 2023, but a delay to the international schedule forced organisers to alter their plans.

Where is the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup?

India will host the entire World Cup for the first time in 2023, having shared hosting responsibilities on three previous occasions.

In 1987 they co-hosted with Pakistan, the 96' event was shared with Pakistan and Sri Lanka, while in 2011 then hosted alongside Sri Lanka and Bangladesh.

With the Indian Premier League being such a big hit over recent years, there is no shortage of venues to choose from for the upcoming World Cup.

What is the format of the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup?

The 2023 edition will follow the format that was used in the 2019 tournament. At the start of the event, a round-robin stage is used for the 10-team group that will see each side played each other once.

A win is worth two points, while a tie or no result will see each team awarded one point.

The top four sides will qualify for the semi-finals, with the number one side playing fourth and second taking on third for a spot in the final.

Can I watch the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup?

Fans will be able to watch the tournament if they have a Sky Sports subscription, with games set to be available via their dedicated Sky Sports Cricket channel.

Related Cricket News

International Cricket: Ben Stokes confirmed as world's leading cricketer by Wisden

IPL season update: Gujarat Titans growing into title defence

The Ashes: David Warner handed Australia backing for England clashes

IPL: Harry Brook dazzles with century for Sunrisers Hyderabad

How many times has the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup taken place?

The 2023 World Cup will be the 13th edition of the tournament, with the inaugural event being held in England back in 1975 and the most recent running in 2019 being staged in England and Wales.

Who has won the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup on the most occasions?

Australia are the most successful team to ever compete in the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup, winning the event on no less than five occasions and appearing in seven finals.

The Aussies lost the first ever ODI World Cup in 1975 to the West Indies, going down by 17 runs, and they had to wait until 1987 to get their hands on the trophy for the first time.

Following that success, Australia won three consecutive ODI World Cups between 1999 and 2007 before landing a fifth title in 2015 when triumphing Down Under.

England will come into the 2023 event as the defending champions after their incredible victory over New Zealand. The match went to a super over and it was England who eventually prevailed in front of a packed crowd at Lord's to win their first ever World Cup in the one-day format.

Who are the favourites for ICC Men's Cricket World Cup?

As hosts, India are the 11/5 favourites to prevail in front of their own fans and they have been handed a 113 rating by the ICC, the same as Australia and New Zealand.

Australia and New Zealand are 4/1 and 15/2 to win, respectively, while England are 3/1 to join the Aussies and the West Indies as the only sides' to have won back-to-back trophies.

Who is taking part in the ICC Men's Cricket World Cup?

Only 10 teams will play in India and seven have qualified automatically, these being India, New Zealand, England, Australia, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Afghanistan.

One more team out of the West Indies, Sri Lanka, Ireland and South Africa will also secure a spot depending on their results, while the final two places will be decided via a qualifying tournament which will take place in Zimbabwe in September.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet €10 & Get €30 in Free Bets

Become a member of the world's favourite online sports betting brand

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.