Skip to content
The Club World Cup will take place for the 19th time in February
  1. Football

Football: All you need to know about the Club World Cup

The 19th edition of the Club World Cup takes place in February and there will be seven teams battling it out to lift the trophy in Morocco.

Those seven teams, from six confederations, will be vying for glory and there are set to be some top-class names in action, including Real Madrid's Ballon d'Or winner Karim Benzema. Here is a look at all you need to know about the tournament.

What is the Club World Cup?

The Club World Cup is an international men's football competition organised by FIFA, the sport's governing body.

The inaugural edition in 2000 was held in Brazil, where Corinthians were crowned champions, while the 18th staging of the tournament took place in Abu Dhabi in 2021 when Chelsea lifted the trophy.

How does the Club World Cup work?

It involves the winners of that year's AFC Champions League (Asia), CAF Champions League (Africa), CONCACAF Champions League (North America), Copa Libertadores (South America), OFC Champions League (Oceania) and UEFA Champions League (Europe), along with the host nation's national champions, who participate in a straight knockout tournament.

A draw is held to determine the matchups of the second round, which is between the first-round winner and teams from AFC, CAF and CONCACAF, and the opponents of the two second-round winners in the semi-finals (against teams from CONMEBOL and UEFA).

The winners of both semi-finals will contest the final, while the two losers from those last-four encounters will face off in the third/fourth place clash.

Related Football News

Spanish Super Cup final preview: Xavi bids to deliver silverware to Barcelona

La Liga weekend preview: Basque derby tops the bill in Spain

Who won the last Club World Cup?

Chelsea won the tournament in 2020, beating Brazilian Serie A outfit Palmeiras 2-1 after extra time. It's the first time the Premier League side have lifted the trophy, having finished runners-up in 2012, and it was the ninth straight year a European club claimed the spoils.

When is the Club World Cup?

The tournament will be held from 1st-11th February.

Where will the Club World Cup be held?

Morocco will host the tournament for the third time, with previous tournaments held in the north African nation in 2013 and 2014. There are two venues set to stage the matches; Stade Ibn Batouta in Tangier and Prince Moulay Abdellah Stadium in Rabat.

Who is playing in the Club World Cup?

Flamengo (Brazil, winners of Copa Libertadores)
Real Madrid (Spain, winners of Champions League)
Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia, winners of AFC Champions League)
Wydad Casablanca (Morocco, winners of CAF Champions League)
Seattle Sounders (USA, winners of CONCACAF Champions League)
Auckland City (New Zealand, winners of OFC Champions League)
Al Ahly (Egypt, runners-up of CAF Champions League)

Which team has won the Club World Cup the most?

Spanish giants Real Madrid have won the Club World Cup a record four times, claiming the spoils in 2014, 2016, 2017 and 2018.

Barcelona are next on the list, winning on three occasions, while Corinthians and Bayern are both two-time winners.

How can I watch the Club World Cup?

All matches will be shown across the BBC Red Button and are also available to stream on BBC iPlayer.

Who are the contenders for the Club World Cup?

Real Madrid will be confident of extending their record for the most Club World Cup titles as they look to build on Europe's recent dominance in the competition.

Los Blancos have the advantage of bypassing the opening two rounds and will enter at the semi-final stage, with just two victories required to be crowned champions.

Carlo Ancelotti's men will face one of Al Ahly, Auckland City or Seattle Sounders in the last four, with their opening clash set to take place in Rabat.

Al Ahly face Auckland City in the first round with the winner set to take on MLS debutants Seattle Sounders in round two.

In the bottom half of the draw, Wydad Casablanca and Al Hilal meet in the second round with Flamengo to face the victor in the semi-finals.

Flamengo have previously appeared in the final of the competition, losing 1-0 to Liverpool after extra-time in Qatar.

They are the only side apart from Real Madrid to have made it into the showpiece encounter and a European-Brazilian final, which has taken place in three of the last six editions, could be on the cards.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy