Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
World Cup
  1. Football
  2. World Cup

World Cup 2030: Date, schedule, history & more

Fifa has revealed that the 2030 World Cup finals will be played across three different continents - Europe, Africa and South America.

The surprise announcement saw Spain, Portugal and Morocco named as co-hosts, but the first three matches will be played in South America.

Argentina, Uruguay and Paraguay will be the venues for the opening three matches, as part of the World Cup’s centenary.

The opening World Cup match took place in Montevideo, Uruguay on the 13th July, 1930 and Fifa are planning to celebrate 100 years of the tournament in 2030, with the opening game set to take place in the same city.

World Cup 2030 Dates

It’s too early for the dates to be confirmed, but the tournament is likely to run from mid-June until the end of July 2030.

World Cup 2030 Format

The tournament will include 48 teams, with a draw made prior to the event to put the nations into 12 groups of four teams.

There must be 32 teams progressing to make the knockout stages balanced, so the top two teams from each group will qualify, as well as the eight best third-placed teams.

There will be a last-32 stage, before a last-16 section, quarter-finals and semi-finals before the showpiece final.

World Cup 2030 Venues/Locations

Spain, Portugal and Morocco will host the majority of the tournament, with the first three matches split between Uruguay, Argentina and Paraguay.

The venues won’t be confirmed until nearer the time, but the below stadiums look likely to be on the list of potential hosts:


  • Estadio Centenario (Montevideo) - Capacity: 60,235


  • Estadio Monumental (Buenos Aires) - Capacity: 84,657


  • Estadio General Pablo Rojas (Asuncion) - Capacity: 45,000


  • Santiago Bernabeu (Madrid) - Capacity: 84,744
  • Camp Nou (Barcelona) - Capacity: 99,354
  • Metropolitano (Madrid) - Capacity: 70,460
  • Benito Villamarin (Seville) - Capacity: 60,270


  • Estadio da Luz (Lisbon) - Capacity: 64,642
  • Estadio Jose Alvalade (Lisbon) - Capacity: 50,095
  • Estadio do Dragao (Porto) - Capacity: 50,033
  • Estadio Nacional (Oeiras) - Capacity: 38,593


  • Ibn Batouta Stadium (Tangier) - Capacity: 65,000
  • Mohamed V Stadium (Casablanca) - Capacity: 45,891
  • Adrar Stadium (Agadir) - Capacity: 45,480
  • Marrakesh Stadium (Marrakesh) - Capacity: 45,240

How to watch World Cup 2030

No TV deals will be confirmed until nearer the start of the tournament but, at present, terrestrial channels BBC and ITV broadcast every match.

World Cup History

Only eight countries have ever won the World Cup since it started in 1930, with Brazil leading the way with five victories.

European duo Germany and Italy have both lifted the trophy on four occasions, while 2022 champions Argentina are three-time winners.

France and Uruguay have been crowned world champions on two occasions each, while both England and Spain have one World Cup victory apiece to their name.

Five other nations have made the final, with the Netherlands losing in the showpiece on no fewer than three occasions.

The other countries to make the final are Croatia, Sweden, Hungary and Czechia (formerly Czechoslovakia).

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.