Skip to content
en-gb GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. More Sports & News
  2. Rugby League

World Club Challenge: Where is it, who's playing, how to watch live & betting odds

The World Club Challenge has become an iconic fixture in the rugby league calendar with the champions of the Super League and NRL going head-to-head for the coveted title.

What is the World Club Challenge?

The World Club Challenge is an annual rugby league competition between the winners of the Australasian National Rugby League and the European Super League.

When is the World Club Challenge?

The date for the 2024 World Club Challenge is yet to be determined but the match takes place at the start of the new Super League season. 

The last World Club Challenge in 2023 took place on Saturday 18th February with a kick-off time of 07.00 GMT in the UK and 18.00 AEDT in Australia.

Where is the World Club Challenge?

The venue of the match will depend on which teams triumph in the Super League and the NRL in 2023.

How many times has the World Club Challenge taken place?

The first match was played in 1976 when Sydney's Eastern Suburbs beat St Helens 25-2 but it did not become a regular fixture until 1987. It had been held every year since 2000 apart from the 2021 and 2022 fixtures which had to be cancelled.

St Helens are the holders of the trophy having beaten Penrith Panthers 13-12 in 2023 - the 29th staging of the World Club Challenge.

Where to watch the World Club Challenge on TV?

It has not been confirmed who will be broadcasting the next World Club Challenge in 2024.

In a first for fans in the UK, the 2023 World Club Challenge was shown live on free-to-air TV on Channel 4 with regular broadcaster Sky Sports also televising the match.

Who has won the World Club Challenge on the most occasions?

Sydney Roosters have won the World Club Challenge five times - in 1976, 2003, 2014, 2019 and 2020. They have never been runners-up. Wigan Warriors are the most successful European side having won the World Club Challenge on four occasions, most recently in 2017.

Leeds Rhinos, Melbourne Storm, Bradford Bulls and reigning champions St Helens have won the World Club Challenge three times, while Brisbane Broncos have triumphed twice.

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles, Widnes Vikings, St George Illawarra Dragons, South Sydney Rabbitohs and North Queensland Cowboys have all won the World Club Challenge once.

A team from the NRL has won the World Club Challenge 14 times while a Super League side have also triumphed on 14 occasions. Melbourne Storm did win the title in 2010 against the Leeds Rhinos but were later stripped of the title for salary cap breaches.

Related Rugby League News

NRL 2023 season preview: Panthers eye third successive title

Who are the favourites for World Club Challenge?

Having lifted the trophy last season, St Helens will certainly be among the favourites to reach the World Club Challenge in 2024.

Saints have won all of the last four Super League Grand Finals and should be in the mix to reach the World Club Challenge once again in 2024.

Likewise last season’s NRL champions, Penrith Panthers, are also likely to challenge for a return to World Club Challenge in 2024.

NRL giants the Sydney Roosters and Melbourne Storm have great history in the World Club Challenge and will both be bidding to make a return to the prestigious event.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.