Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Football
  2. WSL

Women's Super League: Dates, schedule & history

The 2023/24 Women's Super League season kicks off on Sunday 1st October, with Chelsea aiming to make a successful defence of their title.

Arsenal, Manchester City and Manchester United are among the challengers hoping to dethrone the Blues and become champions of the top division of English football.

When is the Women's Super League?

The 2023/24 Women's Super League season starts on Sunday 1st October 2023 and the final round of fixtures takes place on Saturday 18th May 2024. 

Where is the Women's Super League?

Women's Super League matches will be held at the home grounds of the 12 top-flight teams: Arsenal, Aston Villa, Brighton, Bristol City, Chelsea, Everton, Leicester, Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Tottenham and West Ham.

Some games are scheduled to take place at the stadiums used by teams in the men's Premier League and Championship.

The opening fixtures include Arsenal v Liverpool at the Emirates Stadium, Aston Villa v Manchester United at Villa Park, and Chelsea v Tottenham at Stamford Bridge.

Bristol City Women play their home matches at Ashton Gate and Leicester Women are based at the King Power Stadium. 

Can I watch the Women's Super League?

Yes. Every game of the Women's Super League is available to watch on The FA Player and selected matches will be shown live on BBC One, BBC Two and BBC iPlayer.

Villa's opening clash with Manchester United is on BBC Two for terrestrial viewers, while Sky subscribers can watch selected fixtures on Sky Sports Football, Sky Sports Premier League and Sky Sports Main Event.

What is the format of the Women's Super League?

The 12 teams in the Women's Super League play each other once at home and once away. Three points are awarded for a win, one for a draw and none for a loss.

After 22 matches the team with the most points are crowned champions. If clubs are level on points, goal difference and then goals scored will be used to determine who finishes higher in the table.

The champions and runners-up qualify for the Champions League second round and the third-placed team earns a place in the Champions League first round. The club who finish 12th are relegated to the Championship.

How many times has the Women's Super League taken place?

The 2023/24 Women's Super League is the 13th season of the competition. The WSL replaced the FA Women's Premier League National Division in 2011 and Arsenal were the inaugural champions.

Who has won the Women's Super League on the most occasions?

Chelsea have been the dominant force in the Women's Super League, winning the title on six occasions. Their first triumph came in 2015 and they also won the league in 2017/18, before racking up four titles in a row between 2019/20 and 2022/23.

Another London club, Arsenal, are the next most successful club in WSL history, topping the table in 2011, 2012 and 2019, while Liverpool were crowned champions in 2013 and 2014.

Manchester City, in 2016, are the only other club to have won the Women's Super League in its first 12 seasons.

Birmingham City were runners-up in 2011 and 2012, the first two WSL campaigns, while Bristol Academy finished second in 2013 and Manchester United chased home champions Chelsea in 2023.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.