Skip to content
en-gb GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Cricket
  2. The Ashes

Women's Ashes: Dates, schedule, history & odds

The 2023 Women's Ashes starts on Thursday at Trent Bridge, the venue for the one-off Test between England Women and Australia Women.

The teams will then play three Twenty20 internationals and three ODIs, with the Ashes winners determined by a points system.

Australia eased to a 12-4 win in the 2021/22 series down under and they are 1/4 to beat 7/2 hosts England this summer, with the draw priced up at 17/2.

WhatEngland Women v Australia Women
WhereTrent Bridge, Nottingham
WhenStarts 11:00, Thursday 22nd June
How to watchSky Sports Cricket, Sky Sports Main Event & Sky Sports Mix
OddsEngland Women 7/2, Draw 17/2, Australia Women 1/4 

When is the Women's Ashes?

The 2023 Women's Ashes series runs from Thursday 22nd June to Tuesday 18th July. The five-day Test match starts at Trent Bridge on 22nd June while the three-match Twenty20 series begins on Saturday 1st July and the first of three ODIs takes place in Bristol on Wednesday 12th July.

Where is the Women's Ashes?

After the Test match at Trent Bridge in Nottingham, England Women face Australia Women in three T20 internationals at Edgbaston, The Oval and Lord's. The 2023 Ashes series concludes with ODIs at Bristol's County Ground, the Rose Bowl in Southampton, and the County Ground in Taunton. 

Can I watch the Women's Ashes?

The Test matches, three Twenty20 internationals and three ODIs will be shown live on Sky Sports Cricket, Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports Mix. 

How many times has the Women's Ashes taken place?

The 2023 series will be the 25th time that England and Australia have competed in the Women's Ashes. The inaugural contest was a three-match Test series in Australia in 1934/35, which was won 2-0 by England.

The first 18 Women's Ashes featured Test matches. But in 2013, a multi-format system was introduced and since then each series has comprised one Test, three ODIs and three T20 internationals.

Four points are awarded to the winners of the Test match, with two points apiece in the event of a draw. In the ODI and T20 series, the winners of each match get two points and the teams get one each for a tie or a no result. 

Who has won the Women's Ashes on the most occasions?

After Australia's convincing victory in the 2021/22 Women's Ashes, by 12 points to four, the Aussies have won 10 of the 24 series - with England triumphing six times and eight draws.

The 12 Women's Ashes held in England have produced three wins for the hosts, four for Australia and five drawn series. 

Who are the favourites for the Women's Ashes?

Australia have won the last two Women's Ashes in England, in 2015 and 2019, as well as the last home series in 2021/22 and they are 1/4 to win the 2023 edition. England are 7/2 to regain the Ashes on home soil, while the draw is a 17/2 chance.

Four points are up for grabs in the Test match at Trent Bridge, where Australia are 8/11 for victory against 4/1 England. All six of the women's Tests played since 2015 have ended in draws but they were four-day matches whereas the 2023 Ashes Test is over five days and it is 5/2 to end in a stalemate.

Australia opener Beth Mooney, who scored a century in the warm-up match against England A, is 13/2 to be Player of the Match in the Test. England spinner Sophie Ecclestone is 7/1 in the same market and Nat Sciver-Brunt, another key player for the hosts, is 7/1 to claim the individual award in Nottingham.

Who are the players to watch in the Women's Ashes?

Australia are missing their legendary captain Meg Lanning, so wicketkeeper Alyssa Healy will lead the side.

Healy opens the batting in white-ball cricket and scored 170 off 138 balls against England in Australia's 2022 World Cup final triumph.

England's Tammy Beaumont comes into the Ashes in good form after scoring a double-century against Australia A in Derby and Sciver-Brunt's last Test innings was an unbeaten 169 against South Africa at Taunton last summer.

England captain Heather Knight averages nearly 55 in Test cricket against Australia, with two centuries in seven appearances, and Aussie all-rounder Ellyse Perry made the highest Test score in Women's Ashes history in November 2017, racking up 213 not out in Sydney.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.