Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Football

Women's World Cup Stadium and City Guide

Ahead of the ninth edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand in 2023, we take a look at each of the nine selected venues which will play host to matches in the competition.

Five of the nine host stadiums are situated in Australia, with four in New Zealand. The final will take place in Sydney at the 83,500-capacity Stadium Australia, while Eden Park in Auckland will host the opening game of the tournament.

What Women's World Cup 2023 
Where Australia and New Zealand 
When Thursday 20th July - Sunday 20th August 2023 
How to watch BBC and ITV 
Odds USA Women 3/1, England Women 7/2, Spain Women 6/1, Germany Women 7/1, France Women 15/2

Let's take a look at each of the Women’s World Cup's host cities and their designated venues...

Stadium Australia (83,500 capacity)

Sydney’s Stadium Australia is comfortably the largest of the nine venues for the Women’s World Cup and will host the final, as well as co-hosts Australia’s opening fixture.

It is a multi-purpose stadium that was completed in 1999 ahead of the Sydney Olympics the following year and is sometimes referred to as the Olympic Stadium.

The Australian men’s football team play their biggest home games at this venue and A-League pair Sydney FC and Western Sydney Wanderers have both hosted exhibition games at Stadium Australia.

Various other sporting events have been held at Stadium Australia including cricket and Aussie rules football, but Stadium Australia is perhaps best known as a Rugby League venue. New South Wales home games of the State of Origin series are also played at the stadium each year, while it is also the regular host venue of the NRL Grand Final.

Sydney Football Stadium (42,512 capacity)

Sydney Football Stadium, also known as Allianz Stadium, was opened in 2020 and has three major tenants - A-League outfit Sydney FC, Sydney Roosters of the National Rugby League and Super Rugby’s New South Wales Waratahs.

The venue also hosts music concerts and Sir Elton John performed for back-to-back nights on his Farewell Yellow Brick Road global farewell tour at the stadium in January 2023.

Brisbane - Lang Park (52,263 capacity)

Lang Park in Brisbane is a multi-purpose venue that will host the third and fourth place play-off, and is the second biggest of the Women’s World Cup venues.

The stadium is primarily a Rugby League venue and is regarded as the home of the sport in the city of Brisbane. Queensland Maroons play their home State of Origin games at Lang Park and it is also the home venue of NRL pair Brisbane Broncos and Queensland Dolphins.

Super Rugby club Queensland Reds also call the stadium home, while there have been international men and women’s football games staged at Lang Park. In boxing, Australian Jeff Horn claimed the WBO welterweight world title with a shock unanimous decision win over Manny Pacquiao in front of a 51,052 crowd at this venue in 2017.

Melbourne - Melbourne Rectangular Stadium (30,052 capacity)

The Melbourne Rectangular Stadium, also known as AAMI Park, is part of the sprawling Melbourne Sports and Entertainment Precinct in the city’s central business district.

The venue is the regular home of A-League duo Melbourne Victory and Melbourne City, while NRL outfit Melbourne Storm and Super Rugby club Melbourne Rebels also play their home games at Rectangular Stadium.

Perth - Perth Rectangular Stadium (22,225 capacity)

The Rectangular Stadium in Perth currently has two major tenants as A-League outfit Perth Glory and Super Rugby side Western Force play their home games at the venue.

The stadium also hosts concerts, and the likes of Taylor Swift, Ed Sheeran, Red Hot Chilli Peppers and Justin Bieber have all staged shows at this venue in Perth.

Adelaide - Hindmarsh Stadium (16,500 expanding to 18,435 capacity)

Adelaide’s Hindmarsh Stadium is the smallest of the nine World Cup venues and underwent redevelopment in 2023 in order to increase the capacity for the Women’s World Cup.

A-League club Adelaide United play their home games at the stadium, and it is set to hold four group stage games and one round of 16 clash at the upcoming Women’s World Cup.

Auckland - Eden Park (48,276 capacity)

Auckland’s Eden Park is New Zealand’s national stadium and is the largest of the four Women’s World Cup venues in the country. Eden Park will host the opening game of the tournament - the Football Ferns’ clash with Norway on 20th July.

The stadium is primarily used for rugby union in the winter and cricket in the summer, while rugby league and football fixtures have also been staged at this venue.

Wellington - Wellington Regional Stadium (39,000 capacity)

Wellington Regional Stadium is a multi-purpose venue in Wellington that primarily hosts sporting events. The stadium has staged home games for the New Zealand national men’s team and is the regular home of A-League outfit Wellington Phoenix, the only team from the country who competes in the top tier of Australian football.

The stadium will host New Zealand’s second fixture at the Women’s World Cup, the Group A clash with the Philippines.

Dunedin - Forsyth Barr Stadium (28,744 capacity)

The Forsyth Barr Stadium in Dunedin is known colloquially as the ‘The Glasshouse’ as it resembles a giant greenhouse and will host New Zealand’s final group stage fixture against Switzerland.

It is the home stadium of Super Rugby outfit Highlanders and has previously hosted home games for A-League outfit Wellington Phoenix.

Forsyth Barr Stadium has also hosted a number of concerts and the likes of Aerosmith, Fleetwood Mac and Post Malone have all played shows at the venue.

Hamilton - Waikato Stadium (25,111 capacity)

The Waikato Stadium in Hamilton is a multi-purpose venue that serves as the home ground for two rugby union teams; the Chiefs in Super Rugby and the Waikato side in the Mitre 10 Cup, New Zealand's top provincial rugby competition.

The venue will host five group stages fixtures in total but has not been selected for any knockout games at the Women’s World Cup.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.