Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Tennis
  2. Wimbledon

Wimbledon: Previous women's winners

Wimbledon has seen its fair share of dominant champions in the Open era with Billie Jean King, Martina Navratilova, Steffi Graf and the Williams sisters all reigning supreme over SW19 at one time.

But since Serena Williams lost her grip on the women’s game, Wimbledon has had a more open feel to it with five different champions in the last five editions of the grass court Grand Slam. 

Elena Rybakina was the most recent ladies' champion at the All England Club and the Kazak is 4/1 to become the first back-to-back winner since Serena’s last hurrah on grass when taking home her sixth and seventh titles in 2015 and 2016.  

The 24-year-old is one of a handful of former champions likely to be heading to SW19 in 2023 with the retirements of Serena and Ashleigh Barty last year, suspension of Simona Halep, dips in form of the likes of Garbine Muguruza and family life trimming the list.

What2023 Wimbledon Women
WhereAll England Club, London
WhenMonday, 3rd July - Sunday, 16th July, 2023
How to watchBBC One & Two
OddsWomen's outright: Iga Swiatek 4/1, Aryna Sabalenka 4/1, Elena Rybakina 4/1, Ons Jabeur 10/1, Coco Gauff 14/1

Strong Rybakina defence expected 

Of those returning to have gone the distance at Wimbledon, Rybakina has the shortest odds to clinch the top prize again after her storming run in 2022, when she took plenty by surprise.

Having never previously been beyond the quarter-finals of a Slam and following a sub-par build-up on the grass in which she won one match at Eastbourne and s-Hertogenbosch combined, Rybakina was flying under the radar this time last season.

But Rybakina came to life at the All England Club, her powerful serve proving to be a big weapon as she dropped just two sets on route to the title. 

In the process, Rybakina became the second-lowest ranked winner of the women’s title since computer rankings began in 1975, a reflection of how open the women’s game has become in the absence of some all-conquering talents. 

Kvitova seeking Wimbledon hat-trick

In the 55 years of the Open era, Wimbledon has seen just 21 different champions with a good chunk of those wins going to a select few. 

Navratilova won an unprecedented nine Rosewater Dishes, with Graf and Serena Williams accumulating seven each. 

King won four Wimbledon titles in the Open era having won two prior to that, while Venus Williams has five titles to her name. 

Unlike her sister, Venus Williams is still on the WTA Tour and is likely to be involved at Wimbledon in some capacity. 

With a singles ranking of 697th and at 43 years of age, whether she receives a wild card for the singles remains to be seen but if she does, she’ll be one of two multiple champions in the draw, along with Petra Kvitova. 

The Czech won her two Wimbledon titles in 2011 and 2014 but is still going strong, winning the Miami Open in April, and is a 25/1 shot to pick up her third crown.

The 33-year-old is a natural on grass, winning the Eastbourne title last year. However, since winning the second of her women’s championships, Kvitova hasn’t been beyond the fourth round at the All England Club.

Family life curbing Angelique’s tennis enthusiasm 

The final former winner priced up for this year’s women’s singles is 2018 champion Angelique Kerber, who is 66/1 to make a stunning return to tennis at SW19. 

The German hasn’t played since exiting in the third round at Wimbledon last year, after which she announced she was pregnant and would be taking a break from tennis.

The former world no.1 gave birth to her daughter in February and while she has hinted at a comeback to tennis at some point, it seems likely she’ll be joining the long list of ex-champions watching Wimbledon from home this year.

Wimbledon women’s winners (Open Era)

1968Billie Jean KingJudy Tegart
1969Ann JonesBillie Jean King
1970Margaret CourtBillie Jean King
1971Evonne GoolagongMargaret Court
1972Billie Jean KingEvonne Goolagong
1973Billie Jean KingChris Evert
1974Chris EvertOlga Morozova
1975Billie Jean KingEvonne Goolagong
1976Chris EvertEvonne Goolagong
1977Virginia WadeBetty Stove
1978Martina NavratilovaChris Evert
1979Martina NavratilovaChris Evert
1980Evonne CawleyChris Evert
1981Chris Evert LloydHana Mandlikova
1982Martina NavratilovaChris Evert
1983Martina NavratilovaAndrea Jaeger
1984Martina NavratilovaChris Evert
1985Martina NavratilovaChris Evert
1986Martina NavratilovaHana Mandlikova
1987Martina NavratilovaSteffi Graf
1988Steffi GrafMartina Navratilova
1989Steffi GrafMartina Navratilova
1990Martina NavratilovaZina Garrison
1991Steffi GrafGabriela Sabatini
1992Steffi GrafMonica Sales
1993Steffi GrafJana Novotna
1994Conchita MartinezMartina Navratilova
1995Steffi GrafArantxa Sanchez Vicario
1996Steffi GrafArantxa Sanchez Vicario
1997Martina HingisJana Novotna
1998Jana NovotnaNathalie Tauziat
1999Lindsay DavenportSteffi Graf
2000Venus WilliamsLindsey Davenport
2001Venus WilliamsJustine Henin
2002Serena WilliamsVenus Williams
2003Serena WilliamsVenus Williams
2004Maria SharapovaSerena Williams
2005Venus WilliamsLindsey Davenport
2006Amelie MauresmoJustine Henin-Hardenne
2007Venus WilliamsMarion Bartoli
2008Venus WilliamsSerena Williams
2009Serena WilliamsVenus Williams
2010Serena WilliamsVera Zvonareva
2011Petra KvitovaMaria Sharapova
2012Serena WilliamsAgnieszka Radwańska
2013Marion BartoliSabine Lisicki
2014Petra KvitováEugenie Bouchard
2015Serena WilliamsGarbiñe Muguruza
2016Serena WilliamsAngelique Kerber
2017Garbiñe MuguruzaVenus Williams
2018Angelique KerberSerena Williams
2019Simona HalepSerena Williams
2020No competition 
2021Ash BartyKarolína Plíšková
2022Elena RybakinaOns Jabeur

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.