Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Football

The Best FIFA Football Awards: Lionel Messi scoops top gong

The eighth edition of The Best FIFA Football Awards saw Lionel Messi crowned Best Men's Player for the third time in London.

The winners of FIFA's The Best Awards for 2023 were determined by a combination of fans, national team coaches, national team captains and media members from the collection of FIFA member nations, based on performances between 19th December 2022 and 20th August 2023. 

At the 2023 awards ceremony in London, Messi and Aitana Bonmati came away with the top prizes in the male and female categories respectively.

The latest in a long list of individual accolades for 36-year old Messi, this recognition comes following his momentous World Cup victory with his country Argentina in Qatar in December 2022, with Bonmati collecting the Best Women's Player award after winning the Women's World Cup with Spain and a stunning treble of trophies with Barcelona.

Let's take a look at the list of The Best FIFA Football Awards winners in full:

Men's awards

The Best FIFA Men's Player:

1. Lionel Messi (PSG & Argentina)
2. Erling Haaland (Manchester City & Norway)
3. Kylian Mbappe (PSG & France)

The Best FIFA Men's Goalkeeper:

1. Ederson (Manchester City & Brazil)
2. Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid & Belgium)
3. Yassine Bounou (Sevilla/Al Hilal & Morocco)

The Best FIFA Men's Coach:

1. Pep Guardiola (Manchester City)
2. Luciano Spalletti (Napoli/Italy)
3. Simone Inzaghi (Inter Milan)

FIFA FIFPRO Men's World 11:

Goalkeeper - Thibaut Courtois

Defenders - Kyle Walker, Ruben Dias, John Stones

Midfielders - Bernardo Silva, Kevin De Bruyne, Jude Bellingham

Forwards - Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe, Erling Haaland, Vinicius Junior

Women's awards

The Best FIFA Women's Player:

1. Aitana Bonmati (Barcelona & Spain)
2. Linda Caicedo (Deportivo Cali/Real Madrid & Colombia)
3. Jenni Hermoso (Pachuca & Spain)

The Best FIFA Women's Goalkeeper:

1. Mary Earps (Manchester United & England)
2. Cata Coll (Barcelona & Spain)
3. Mackenzie Arnold (West Ham & Australia)

The Best FIFA Women's Coach:

1. Sarina Wiegman (England)
2. Emma Hayes (Chelsea)
3. Jonatan Giraldez (Barcelona)

FIFA FIFPRO Women's World 11:

Goalkeeper - Mary Earps

Defenders - Lucy Bronze, Olga Carmona, Alex Greenwood

Midfielders - Aitana Bonmati, Ella Toone, Keira Walsh

Forwards - Lauren James, Sam Kerr, Alex Morgan, Alessia Russo

FIFA Puskas Award

1. Guilherme Madruga (Novorizontino v Botafogo-SP)
2. Nuno Santos (Sporting CP v Boavista)
3. Julio Enciso (Brighton v Manchester City)


Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.