Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Indian Wells Men's Tips
  1. Tennis

Indian Wells Masters: Start date, how to watch, latest odds & more

One of the biggest tennis tournaments outside of the Grand Slam events takes place in the United States this week, as the world's elite gather in California to compete at the prestigious Indian Wells Masters.

The second biggest event contested in the United States behind only the US Open, the Indian Wells tournament is one of just nine to carry Masters 1000 status, so has the potential to propel players up the rankings on both the ATP and WTA Tours.

We have put together all the information you need to know about this key hard-court event in the international tennis calendar.

Indian Wells dates

The qualifying action for the Indian Wells Open began on Sunday March 3rd, but the main-draw matches for both the men's and women's events start on Wednesday March 6th.

The final of both the ATP and WTA tournaments will be played on Sunday March 17th.

Indian Wells times

Matches in the main draw are due to start at 11:00 local time each day. With California being eight hours behind the United Kingdom, the daily action will start at 19:00 for viewers in the UK.

The 2023 women's final had a UK start time of 20:00, with the men's final following it.

Indian Wells venue

The Indian Wells Masters is a landmark event on the ATP Tour and is also known as the BNP Paribas Open for sponsorship reasons. The well-established annual competition is held at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden in the city of Indian Wells in Riverside, California.

The state-of-the-art Indian Wells Tennis Garden venue was established in 2000 and boasts 29 courts with the showpiece arena being a main stadium that has a capacity of 16,100 seats.

It is the second-biggest tennis stadium in the world, second only to the Arthur Ashe Stadium at Flushing Meadows in New York, where the US Open is held.

Indian Wells how to watch

Sky Sports will be showing the men's and women's matches for the duration of the event on its dedicated tennis channel, Sky Sports Tennis. 

Indian Wells will also be streamed on the bet365 Sports Live Streaming platform.

Indian Wells history

The tournament that evolved into the current Indian Wells Masters event started out in 1974 as a non-tour competition for men which was named the American Airlines Tennis Games and held in Tucson, Arizona.

From 1977 to 1989 it became part of the Grand Prix Tennis Tour, which turned into the ATP Tour in 1990. The event moved to its current city of Indian Wells, California, in 1987 and the WTA Tour women's tournament was added in 1989.

The tournament was first hosted at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden in 2000 and it has been sponsored by BNP Paribas for the last 15 years.

The tournament forms the first leg of what is known as the Sunshine Double, which also includes the prestigious Miami Open. 

The last male player to win both events in the Sunshine Double was Roger Federer in 2017, but the women's Indian Wells-Miami combo was pulled off just two years ago in the WTA events by Iga Swiatek.

Novak Djokovic and Roger Federer have each won five times at Indian Wells and there was British success in the ATP event in 2021 when Cameron Norrie triumphed, while Carlos Alcarez is the defending men's champion after claiming his first Indian Wells crown in 2023.

There has been a new name on the WTA Indian Wells trophy in each of the last six renewals and the last multiple winner was Viktoria Azarenka in 2012 and 2016. Elena Rybakina is the defending women's champion.

Indian Wells previous men's winners (since 2000)

·         2000 – Alex Corretja
·         2001 – Andre Agassi
·         2002 – Lleyton Hewitt
·         2003 – Lleyton Hewitt (2)
·         2004 – Roger Federer
·         2005 – Roger Federer (2)
·         2006 – Roger Federer (3)
·         2007 – Rafael Nadal
·         2008 – Novak Djokovic
·         2009 – Rafael Nadal (2)
·         2010 – Ivan Ljubicic
·         2011 – Novak Djokovic (2)
·         2012 – Roger Federer (4)
·         2013 – Rafael Nadal (3)
·         2014 – Novak Djokovic (3)
·         2015 – Novak Djokovic (4)
·         2016 – Novak Djokovic (5)
·         2017 – Roger Federer (5)
·         2018 – Juan Martín del Potro
·         2019 – Dominic Thiem
·         2020 – Not held
·         2021 – Cameron Norrie
·         2022 – Taylor Fritz
·         2023 – Carlos Alcaraz

Indian Wells previous women's winners (since 2000)

·         2000 – Lindsay Davenport (2)
·         2001 – Serena Williams (2)
·         2002 – Daniela Hantuchova
·         2003 – Kim Clijsters
·         2004 – Justine Henin
·         2005 – Kim Clijsters (2)
·         2006 – Maria Sharapova
·         2007 – Daniela Hantuchova (2)
·         2008 – Ana Ivanovic
·         2009 – Vera Zvonareva
·         2010 – Jelena Jankovic
·         2011 – Caroline Wozniacki
·         2012 – Victoria Azarenka
·         2013 – Maria Sharapova (2)
·         2014 – Flavia Pennetta
·         2015 – Simona Halep
·         2016 – Victoria Azarenka (2)
·         2017 – Elena Vesnina
·         2018 – Naomi Osaka
·         2019 – Bianca Andreescu
·         2020 – Not held
·         2021 – Paula Badosa
·         2022 – Iga Swiatek
·         2023 – Elena Rybakina

Any odds displayed were correct at the time of writing and are subject to fluctuation.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.