Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Big Brother
  1. More Sports & News
  2. TV News

Big Brother: Dates, contestants, history & much more

After five years away from our screens, Big Brother is back for its 20th series and we have provided the lowdown on what to expect as a brand new set of contestants prepare to enter the house.

The ultimate social experiment was a ground-breaking show when it first hit our screens at the start of the Millennium, turning their participants into celebrities and dominating the Reality TV landscape long before the likes of Love Island, Made In Chelsea and The Only Way Is Essex came along.

A total of 19 series were made before the show was cancelled in 2018, but after years of speculation that it would one day return, series 20 is now scheduled to get underway this autumn.

Big Brother Series 20 Dates

Big Brother Series 20 is set to return to our screens with a special launch event on Sunday 8th October which will be shown across ITV1, ITV2 and ITVX from 21:00.

Following the launch show, a regular programme will be broadcast Sunday to Friday from 21:00 on ITV2 followed by Big Brother: Late & Live. There will also be a livestream of the house available to watch all day, everyday on ITVX.

Big Brother Series 20 Format

Over the years of its original run, Big Brother got bigger and bigger, which meant contestants would potentially stay in the house for as long as three months.

Series 20 will not run for that long, as it has been confirmed the rebooted series will last six weeks and contestants will receive regular support before, during and after they enter the house, which includes regular sessions with mental health professionals.

Big Brother Series 20 Hosts

During its original run, Big Brother was hosted by Davina McCall, Emma Willis and former contestant Brian Dowling, who won the second series of the show in 2001.

However, none of that trio will be returning for the rebooted series, with presenting duties instead going to AJ Odudu and Will Best.

Odudu previously worked on Big Brother's Bit on the Side with Rylan-Clark Neal and is perhaps best known for being a contestant on the 19th series of Strictly Come Dancing, while Best has previously hosted shows such as T4 and Dance Dance Dance.

In addition to Odudu and Best, Marcus Bentley will be returning as narrator, a position he has held since the show launched 23 years ago.

Big Brother Series 20 House

The location of the house for Series 20 will be at Garden Studios in North London.

Big Brother Series 20 Contestants

The identity of the contestants for Series 20 will not be revealed until the launch episode on Sunday October 8th.

Big Brother History

Originally created in the Netherlands, Big Brother first hit our screens in the UK in July 2000 with Davina McCall taking on hosting duties for a series that was eventually won by builder Craig Phillips.

The first 11 series of the show were broadcast across Channel 4 and E4, but it was announced in 2010 that the 11th series would be the last on the network, throwing its future into doubt.

That future was sorted the following year when Channel Five acquired the rights, with Series 12 being the first to be shown on the channel in 2011, with former winner Brian Dowling replacing McCall as host.

Dowling was himself replaced as presenter by Emma Willis ahead of the 14th series in 2013, a role she held until the show was brought to an end after the 19th series in 2018.

However, after months of speculation, it was confirmed in 2022 that ITV would be bringing Big Brother back, with the 20th series launching on 8th October 2023.

As well as the regular series, there have also been numerous spin-off shows over the years, most notably Celebrity Big Brother, which ran for a total of 22 series from 2001-2018, with some of the notable winners including Jack Dee, Ulrika Jonsson and Katie Price.

Big Brother Previous Winners

  • Big Brother 1 (2000) – Craig Phillips
  • Big Brother 2 (2001) – Brian Dowling
  • Big Brother 3 (2002) – Kate Lawler
  • Big Brother 4 (2003) – Cameron Stout
  • Big Brother 5 (2004) – Nadia Almada
  • Big Brother 6 (2005) – Anthony Hutton
  • Big Brother 7 (2006) – Pete Bennett
  • Big Brother 8 (2007) – Brian Belo
  • Big Brother 9 (2008) – Rachel Rice
  • Big Brother 10 (2009) – Sophie Reade
  • Big Brother 11 (2010) – Josie Gibson
  • Big Brother 12 (2011) – Aaron Allard-Morgan
  • Big Brother 13 (2012) – Luke Anderson
  • Big Brother 14 (2013) – Sam Evans
  • Big Brother 15 (2014) – Helen Wood
  • Big Brother 16 (2015) – Chloe Woodburn
  • Big Brother 17 (2016) – Jason Burrill
  • Big Brother 18 (2017) – Isabelle Warburton
  • Big Brother 19 (2018) – Cameron Cole

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.