Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
World Athletics Championship
  1. TV News

Sports Personality of the Year 2024: Date, previous winners and more

Forever a popular slot on the festive TV schedule, Sports Personality of the Year always caps off a stellar year for British sport.

Figures from across the sporting landscape take to the screen in the run-up to Christmas, hoping to be crowned by the voting public.

Over the years, the likes of Emma Raducanu, Lewis Hamilton, Andy Murray, Mo Farah and Geraint Thomas have made their way on to the honours list.

A staple of the calendar since the 1950s, the event is also a celebration of team success, coaching excellence and the hard work of community volunteers.

Sports Personality of the Year previous winners

1954 Christopher Chataway Athletics
1955 Gordon Pirie Athletics
1956 Jim Laker Cricket
1957 Dai Rees Golf
1958 Ian Black Swimming
1959 John Surtees Motorcycle racing
1960 David Broome Show jumping
1961 Stirling Moss Formula One
1962 Anita Lonsbrough Swimming
1963 Dorothy Hyman Athletics
1964 Mary Rand Athletics
1965 Tom Simpson Cycling
1966 Bobby Moore Football
1967 Henry Cooper Boxing
1968 David Hemery Athletics
1969 Ann Jones Tennis
1970 Henry Cooper Boxing
1971 Princess Anne Eventing
1972 Mary PetersAthletics
1973 Jackie Stewart Formula One
1974 Brendan Foster Athletics
1975 David Steele Cricket
1976 John Curry Figure skating
1977 Virginia Wade Tennis
1978 Steve Ovett Athletics
1979 Sebastian Coe Athletics
1980 Robin Cousins Figure skating
1981 Ian Botham Cricket
1982 Daley Thompson Athletics
1983 Steve Cram Athletics
1984 Torvill and DeanFigure skating
1985 Barry McGuigan Boxing
1986 Nigel Mansell Formula One
1987 Fatima Whitbread Athletics
1988 Steve Davis Snooker
1989 Nick Faldo Golf
1990 Paul Gascoigne Football
1991 Liz McColgan Athletics
1992 Nigel Mansell Formula One
1993 Linford Christie Athletics
1994 Damon Hill Formula One
1995 Jonathan Edwards Athletics
1996 Damon Hill Formula One
1997 Greg Rusedski Tennis
1998 Michael Owen Football
1999 Lennox Lewis Boxing
2000 Steve Redgrave Rowing
2001 David Beckham Football
2002 Paula Radcliffe Athletics
2003 Jonny Wilkinson Rugby union
2004 Kelly Holmes Athletics
2005 Andrew Flintoff Cricket
2006 Zara Phillips Eventing
2007 Joe Calzaghe Boxing
2008 Chris Hoy Cycling
2009 Ryan Giggs Football
2010 Tony McCoyHorse racing
2011 Mark Cavendish Cycling
2012 Bradley Wiggins Cycling
2013 Andy Murray Tennis
2014 Lewis Hamilton Formula One
2015 Andy Murray Tennis
2016 Andy Murray Tennis
2017 Mo Farah Athletics
2018 Geraint Thomas Cycling
2019 Ben Stokes Cricket
2020 Lewis Hamilton Formula One
2021 Emma Raducanu Tennis
2022 Beth Mead Football
2023 Mary EarpsFootball

What is Sports Personality of the Year?

Sports Personality of the Year is a BBC award given every December to a sportsperson who has performed exceptionally during the year.

The winner is voted for by the public, with the top three contenders all placed. The competition is now running for a 70th year.

Other awards are handed out, such as World Sport Star of the Year, Unsung Hero, Team of the Year, Coach of the Year and a Lifetime Achievement award.

Sports Personality of the Year date

The date for the 2024 Sports Personality of the Year award has yet to be announced, but it is expected to be in December.

Sports Personality of the Year venue

The venue for this year's Sports Personality of the Year is Dock10 Studios, Media City, Salford, having been held in Aberdeen, Liverpool and Birmingham in recent years.

Sports Personality of the Year - how to watch

Sports Personality of the Year will be shown on BBC One and will also be available on BBC iPlayer.

Who will host Sports Personality of the Year?

Sports Personality of the Year is set to be hosted by leading BBC sports presenters. In 2023, it was Gary Lineker, Clare Balding, Gabby Logan and Alex Scott who presided over the event.

Who won Sports Personality of the Year in 2023?

England's Mary Earps became the second successive Lioness to claim the trophy following her penalty save in the World Cup final defeat to Spain.

Her team-mate Beth Mead had taken the award the previous year, following England’s victory at the Euros in 2022.

Who is the favourite to win Sports Personality of the Year?

Darts sensation Luke Littler is the early favourite to win the award following his brilliant performance at the World Championships at Alexandra Palace, but it looks set to be a competitive heat this year.

England are fancied to win their first men’s major international trophy since 1966 in the summer at Euro 2024, so skipper Harry Kane is high up in the betting, particularly after a fine start to his career at Bayern Munich.

Real Madrid’s Jude Bellingham is also prominent and, as 2024 will also see the Paris Olympics take centre stage, athletes Katarina Johnson-Thompson and Keely Hodgkinson, and prolific swimmer Adam Peaty are also high on the list.

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.