Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Snooker

World Seniors Snooker Championship: How to watch, TV channel, date, venue and past winners

Hot on the heels of the World Championship comes the World Seniors Snooker Championship, with 16 players heading to the Crucible Theatre in Sheffield aiming to secure the prestigious title at snooker's most iconic venue.

Jimmy White is the defending champion following his 5–3 victory over Alfie Burden in last season's final. He has made five finals in a row and also claimed the title in 2019 and 2020.

Other leading candidates include Ken Doherty, runner-up to White in 2020, as well as Brazil's Igor Figueiredo and the lightning-quick Tony Drago.

Barry Pinches and Michael Judge are two more players who will believe they have the right credentials to go all the way.

World Seniors Championship

How to watch World Seniors Snooker Championship and TV channel

This season's World Seniors Snooker Championship will be aired live on Channel 5 in the UK for the first time in its history.

World Seniors Snooker Championship time, date and venue

The World Seniors Snooker Championship takes place at the iconic Crucible Theatre in Sheffield and the tournament gets underway on Wednesday 8th May and will conclude on Sunday 12th May. 

Play starts at midday on Wednesday 8th May, with two first-round matches taking place before two more matches taking place in the evening session at 7pm.

The final four opening-round matches take place on Thursday 9th May, with two games scheduled at midday and two more pencilled in for 7pm.

The first-round matches are played over a best-of-five format, and since only 16 players are involved, the tournament only needs five days to take place.

The quarter-final and semi-final are played over a best-of-seven format, while the final is over a best-of-nine.

World Seniors Snooker Championship stats and past winners (H2H)

Jimmy White is the most decorated player in World Seniors history, having taken the title on four occasions and having his first success in 2010.

It took until 2019 for White to follow up and he has made five consecutive final appearances, with him taking the crown last season with a 5-3 win over Alfie Burden.

Darren Morgan, champion in 2011, is the only other former winner in the field and he has also finished runner-up on two occasions, against Mark Davis in 2016 and White in 2019.

Doherty is another finalist in the field, having finished runner-up to White in 2020, but Igor Figueiredo, Tony Drago and James Wattana are former semi-finalists.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.