Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Snooker

Shanghai Masters: Dates, location, history & how to watch

The Shanghai Masters is one China's most treasured sporting events in a nation infatuated with cue-sports and it is amongst snooker's most prestigious non-ranking events.

The tournament attracts the best players in the world alongside some of China's brightest emerging talents.

Shanghai Masters - Dates

The Shanghai Masters is set to take place from Monday 15th July through to Sunday 21st July in 2024.

Shanghai Masters - Times

Shanghai is seven hours ahead of the UK, so matches are played early in the day for UK fans.

The opening session each day routinely begins at 07:00 (BST), or 14:00 local time in Shanghai, while the second daily session starts at 12:30 (BST) or 19:30 local time in Shanghai.

Shanghai Masters - Location

The Shanghai Masters is currently staged annually inside the Shanghai Grand Stage, a multi-purpose indoor arena in the Chinese city.

It is often used for basketball matches and has also hosted major concerts and sporting events, including the UFC.

It has a seating capacity of 13,000 and was originally built in 1975, though major renovations have taken place in 1999 and 2004.

In 2018 and 2019, the event was played at the Regal International East Asia Hotel in Shanghai.

Shanghai Masters - How to watch & TV channel

The 2023 Shanghai Masters was shown live in the UK and Ireland by Eurosport and the broadcaster is expected to have the rights once more in 2024.

Who is playing in the Shanghai Masters?

The draw for the elite invitational event involves the top 16 players in the world plus the next four highest ranked Chinese players and four wild cards.

Ronnie O'Sullivan is in line to meet International Championship winner Zhang Anda as he begins his quest for a fifth straight Shanghai Masters title.

Anda must overcome a wildcard in round one, while the Rocket is already assured of a berth in round two.

There he is joined by Luca Brecel, home favourite Ding Junhui, Judd Trump, Mark Allen, Mark Selby, Shaun Murphy and Kyren Wilson as the seeds with a first-round bye.

Ali Carter, Mark Williams and Jak Jones are set to join Anda in facing wildcards in round one.

The Chinese quartet of Si Jiahui, Lyu Haotian, Zhou Yuelong and Pang Junxu meanwhile will square off against Tom Ford, John Higgins, Barry Hawkins and Gary Wilson respectively in the opening round as the field is trimmed from 24 starters to the last 16.

How many times has the Shanghai Masters taken place?

The Shanghai Masters was originally introduced for the 2007/2008 season and was the second ranking event to be held in China at the time.

From 2018 the event switched from ranking to invitational, which it remains now. It has been played every year since 2007, with a three-year hiatus from 2020-2022 as a result of the pandemic.

The 2024 renewal will be the 15th edition of the Shanghai Masters.

Most wins of the Shanghai Masters

Ronnie O'Sullivan has won the title five times. He prevailed twice when it was a ranking tournament, in 2009 and 2017, and has won three more crowns since it became an invitational.

His 11-9 win over Brecel last year means O'Sullivan has won the Shanghai Masters in each of the last four renewals.

The only other player with multiple title wins is Ding Junhui, much to the delight of the passionate home support. The Chinese ace beat compatriot Xiao Guodong 10-6 in 2013 and then fended off Selby by the same scoreline in 2016. He is the most recent winner, bar O'Sullivan.

Dominic Dale beat Ryan Day in an all-Welsh inaugural final in 2007, while John Higgins held off Trump in a 2012 deciding frame.

All the remaining winners were English as Ricky Walden (2008), Carter (2010), Selby (2011), Stuart Bingham (2014) and Wilson (2015) hoisted the trophy in China.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.