Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Rugby Union

Rugby Sevens Series: Date, format, fixtures and how to watch

The 2023/24 Rugby Sevens Series is the 25th edition of the annual seven-a-side rugby tournament, which features the game's leading nations.

This year's series has been shortened to eight legs featuring 12 rather than 16 teams and tag-lined 'Chase the Sun' due to the majority of the stops on the tour taking place in the host cities' summer months.

They include this weekend's Grand Final in Madrid, which will act as the final tune-up before the Olympics in Paris.

Rugby Union

Rugby Sevens Series dates

The 2023/24 Rugby Sevens Series has been shortened to eight tournaments, with the organisers revamping the format to try to 'supercharge' the game's growth.

Each leg has also followed the same 12-team format that will be used at this summer's Olympics.

Rugby Sevens Series teams

The 12 teams in the 2023/24 Rugby Sevens Series are:

  • Argentina
  • Australia
  • Canada
  • Fiji
  • France
  • Great Britain
  • Ireland
  • New Zealand
  • Samoa
  • South Africa
  • Spain
  • United States

Of these 'core' countries, the United States, Spain, Samoa and Canada will not feature in the Grand Final, instead taking part in a play-off tournament against Uruguay, Kenya, Chile and Germany.

Rugby Sevens Series venues

The 2023/24 Rugby Sevens Series is scheduled to stop in eight venues, with legs in Asia, Africa, Oceania, North America, and Europe.

The series kicked off at the purpose-built The Sevens arena in Dubai before heading to Cape Town Stadium in South Africa and then Perth's Rectangular Stadium in Australia.

The North American legs took place at Vancouver's BC Place and Los Angeles' Dignity Health Sports Park, before two stops in Asia at the Hong Kong Stadium and the National Stadium, Singapore.

The upcoming event at Madrid's Metropolitano Stadium, home of La Liga club Atletico, is the only leg taking place in Europe and is the final tournament of the season.

Rugby Sevens Series how to watch

The Rugby Sevens Series is available to UK viewers on TNT Sports. It can also be streamed on RugbyPass TV.

Rugby Sevens Series format

The number of teams for 2023/24 was reduced from 16 to 12. In each tournament, that dozen compete over three pools of four, with the top eight going to the knockout rounds, while the bottom four play off in their own competition.

The winner of each leg receives 20 points, runners-up 18, third place 16 and so on and the points are collated. The top eight in the standings after the first seven legs compete in the Grand Final.

Rugby Sevens Series schedule




Men’s Winner

1 - Dubai

2nd-3rd December

The Sevens

South Africa

2 - South Africa

9th-10th December

Cape Town Stadium


3 - Australia

26th-28th January

Perth Rectangular Stadium


4 - Canada

23rd-25th February

BC Place, Vancouver


5 - USA

1st-3rd March

Dignity Health Sports Park, Los Angeles


6 - Hong Kong

5th-7th April

Hong Kong Stadium

New Zealand

7 - Singapore

3rd May - 5th May

National Stadium, Singapore

New Zealand

8 - Spain

31st May - 2nd June

Metropolitano Stadium, Madrid


Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.