Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Rugby League
  2. Super League

Super League Grand Final: Previous Winners

The Super League Grand Final is the pinnacle of the domestic rugby league season, with every team aiming to make the Old Trafford final at the start of the campaign.

To date, only four teams have been able to lift the trophy on the biggest stage, while four other clubs have made an appearance in the showpiece event.

As well as having to finish the regular season in the qualifying places, the winner also needs to get through the play-offs and then win the final in front of 60,000+ fans.

St Helens are the most successful Grand Final team in history, with nine victories and five runners-up appearances at Old Trafford.

Leeds Rhinos have collected the trophy on eight occasions, with Wigan Warriors champions on five occasions, while Bradford Bulls have three titles to their name.

What2024 Super League Grand Final
WhereOld Trafford, Manchester
WhenSaturday 12th October 2024
How to watchSky Sports
OddsWigan Warriors 15/8, St Helens 11/4, Warrington Wolves 15/2, Leeds Rhinos 15/2

The 1990s

Super League began in 1996 and the new format of play-offs and Grand Final were introduced into the sport in 1998.

Four different teams competed in the two Grand Finals of the decade, with Wigan winning the inaugural title before their rivals St Helens lifted the trophy in 1999.

1999St HelensBradford8-6

The 2000s

The first full decade of Grand Finals saw some epic contests, with St Helens, Leeds and Bradford winning multiple titles over the 10-year period.

Saints won three of the first seven finals in the 2000s, including a 29-16 success over their fierce rivals Wigan in 2000.

The Bradford Bulls made five finals in a row between 2001 and 2005, winning the trophy on three occasions including in 2001, when they claimed the largest margin of victory in a 31-point success over Wigan.

In 2006, Hull FC broke the stranglehold of the big four by reaching the Grand Final, but were beaten 26-4 by St Helens.

The decade ended with three straight Old Trafford wins for the Leeds Rhinos, with all three victories coming against St Helens.

2000St HelensWigan29-16
2002St HelensBradford19-18
2006St HelensHull FC26-4
2007LeedsSt Helens33-6
2008LeedsSt Helens24-16
2009LeedsSt Helens18-10

The 2010s

Having lost all three of their Grand Final appearances in the 2000s, Wigan went on to claim victory at Old Trafford on four separate occasions in the 2010s (2010, 2013, 2016, 2018).

Leeds also enjoyed more success in the domestic showpiece event, with another four titles, while Saints claimed another two Grand Final trophies, in 2014 and 2019.

Warrington Wolves became only the sixth team to make the end-of-season finale in 2012, before Castleford Tigers and Salford Red Devils became the seventh and eighth in 2017 and 2019 respectively.

2010WiganSt Helens22-10
2011LeedsSt Helens32-16
2014St HelensWigan14-6
2019St HelensSalford23-6

The 2020s

The fourth decade of Super Grand Finals has certainly belonged to St Helens to date, with the Knowsley Road outfit winning all three titles.

As well as beating Wigan and Leeds in the final, Saints also came out on top in a really tight affair with Catalans Dragons in 2021.

2020St HelensWigan8-4
2021St HelensCatalans12-10
2022St HelensLeeds24-12

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.