Skip to content
en-gb GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Darts

Players Championship Finals: Dates, Venue, History, Odds

There are three days of darting action to look forward to when the Players Championship Finals get under way on Friday 24th November.

A total of 64 players will toe the oche in a bid to land a share of the £600,000 prize fund, with the field decided by the rankings on the PDC’s Order of Merit. 

There’s always a fantastic atmosphere at the Butlin's Resort in Minehead, and we are likely to see plenty of thrills and spills along the way.

WhatPlayers Championship Finals
WhereButlin's Resort, Minehead
WhenFriday 24th November - Sunday 26th November 2023
How to watchITV4

When are the Players Championship Finals?

The Players Championship Finals have become a feature of the November darts calendar. 

The 2023 event will be held from Friday 24th November to Sunday 26th November. 

The first round will be played across a bumper opening session on Friday, with Saturday’s double session shining the spotlight on the second and third rounds. 

The first two days of action whittle the 64-player field down to just eight arrowsmiths and the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final are played over afternoon and evening sessions on Sunday.

Where are the Players Championship Finals?

The Players Championship Finals are held at the Butlin's Resort in Minehead. 

The holiday venue first staged the event in 2012 and it has been the home of the tournament since then. 

The 2020 renewal was moved to the Ricoh Arena in Coventry, but it returned to Minehead the following year. 

The event had previously been held at the Circus Tavern in Purfleet and the Doncaster Dome, but there’s nothing quite like a weekend at Butlin's.

Can I watch the Players Championship Finals?

Yes, the tournament will be shown live on ITV4.

How many times have the Players Championship Finals taken place?

The Players Championship Finals were first introduced into the PDC’s darting calendar in 2009 to serve as a culmination of the numerous Pro Tour events that are held across the season. 

Phil Taylor lifted the inaugural crown and since then the tournament has continued to grow. 

This year will see 64 players compete for a prize fund of £600,000.

Who has won the Players Championship Finals on most occasions?

Michael van Gerwen has been the dominant force in this event. 

The Dutchman has won the competition seven times and finished runner-up on one occasion. 

MVG lifted his first crown in 2013 and then followed that up with titles in 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2020 and 2022. 

Mighty Mike’s trophy haul is drawn from a total of 14 appearances in the tournament. 

Taylor has collected three Players Championship Finals victories, with the Power beating Robert Thornton in the final of the first renewal of the competition. 

Gary Anderson, Kevin Painter, Paul Nicholson, Daryl Gurney and Peter Wright have won one title each, while Adrian Lewis and Mervyn King have both lost in the final on two occasions.

Who are the favourites for the Players Championship Finals?

This is an interesting event as the rankings, and therefore the draw, are decided on the results of only the 2023 PDC Players Championship series events. 

Those 30 tournaments are held across the season and the major televised events are not included in the seedings. 

Van Gerwen, Gerwyn Price and Michael Smith will be at the front of the market, but they are not assured to be at the top of the rankings and the seeding is impacted by that rating. 

That can lead to some unusually difficult first-round draws for the top arrowsmiths. 

Last year’s semi-finalist Luke Humphries will be an interesting contender, as will the likes of Peter Wright, Josh Rock, Damon Heta, Rob Cross and Nathan Aspinall. 

Dirk van Duijvenbode has developed into the most frequent 180-hitter on tour, and if the Dutchman can find some consistency on the doubles, he can also be a threat.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.