Skip to content
  1. US Sports
  2. NFL

NFL Championship 2023: Introducing the Philadelphia Eagles

For the fourth time in franchise history, the Philadelphia Eagles are flying off to 'the greatest show on turf' after a dominant 2022 season.

Despite being one of the NFL's most well-known and oldest franchises in NFL history, the Eagles have only won one NFL Championship title previously but are 10/13 favourites to lift the Vince Lombardi trophy for a second time on 12th February.

What:Kansas City Chiefs v Philadelphia Eagles, NFL Championship 2023
Where:State Farm Stadium, Glendale, Arizona
When:23:30, Sunday 12th February, 2023
How to watch:ITV1 and Sky Sports NFL
Odds:Chiefs 11/10, Eagles 10/13

How did the Philadelphia Eagles reach the 2023 NFL Championship?

The Eagles reached the showpiece event after going 14-3 during the regular season, a record good enough to see them win the NFC East for a 12th time ahead of the Dallas Cowboys.

They also secured the number one seed in the NFC, giving them a bye through the first round of the playoffs and home advantage throughout the postseason.

When they did enter the playoffs, they dispatched the New York Giants 38-7 in the Divisional Round before a resounding 31-7 win over the San Francisco 49ers in the NFC Championship.

Who is the Philadelphia Eagles starting QB?

Jalen Hurts has been playing quarterback for the Philadelphia Eagles since 2020 after being drafted in the second round following a successful stint in college where he played for Alabama, followed by Oklahoma.

Having been initially drafted as the back-up to Carson Wentz, Hurts succeeded Wentz as the starting quarterback in December 2020, but it wasn't until 2021 that the Philadelphia fanbase began to see the best of the 24-year-old.

Hurts led all quarterbacks in rushing yards and touchdowns in 2021 and has kicked on this season, improving his throwing accuracy to become a true dual-threat QB.

Hurts was named to his first Pro Bowl in 2022 and was also included on the five-man shortlist to be regular season MVP.

Related NFL News

NFL: Who will be named MVP?

Who is the Philadelphia Eagles head coach?

Nick Sirianni was named the Eagles' head coach in January 2021 having previously held roles on the staff of the Kansas City Chiefs, San Diego Chargers and Indianapolis Colts.

A relative unknown when he got the job, the New York-born tactician hired Jonathan Gannon as his defensive coordinator and named Shane Steichen his offensive coordinator.

The 41-year-old, who succeeded NFL Championship winner Doug Pederson as Philly coach, guided the Eagles to the playoffs in his first season with a 9-8 record, losing in the Wild Card round to the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

Sirianni has been able to coach up a young Eagles team and they finished the 2022 regular season with the most wins and points scored in franchise history.

How many NFL Championship games have the Philadelphia Eagles been to?

The 2023 NFL Championship will be the Eagles' fourth overall and their first since they won their maiden Vince Lombardi trophy in the 2017 season.

Philadelphia produced a stunning upset to beat the New England Patriots 41-33 on that occasion, claiming a measure of revenge for a defeat to the Pats in the big game in 2004.

The Eagles' only other world championship game appearance ended in a 27-10 loss to the Oakland Raiders in the 1980 season.

Where do the Philadelphia Eagles play?

The Eagles play at Lincoln Financial Field which has a capacity of 69,896 and is located in South Philadelphia.

The Eagles moved into Lincoln Financial Field in 2003 having played at Veterans Stadium for the previous 31 years.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy