Skip to content
  1. US Sports
  2. NFL

NFL Championship 2023: Introducing the Kansas City Chiefs

Since drafting Patrick Mahomes, the Kansas City Chiefs have become the powerhouse franchise of the AFC Conference and will be contesting their third world championship game in five years on 12th February.

What:NFL Championship 2023
Where:State Farm Stadium, Glendale, Arizona
When:23:30, Sunday 12th February
How to watch:Sky Sports & ITV
Odds:KC Chiefs 23/20, PHI Eagles 20/27

What was the Kansas City Chiefs’ record this year? 

The Chiefs wrapped up a seventh straight AFC West title with very little drama before going on to snatch the number one seed in the conference from under the noses of the Buffalo Bills and Cincinnati Bengals with a 14-3 record.

Kansas City had the number one offence in the NFL, averaging more points per game (29.2) in the regular season than anyone else, while Mahomes led the league in passing yards (5,250). 

In the playoffs, the Chiefs were dealt a scare when Mahomes suffered an ankle injury in the Divisional Round win over the Jacksonville Jaguars. 

Despite clearly being hurt, Mahomes returned to see out that game before an excellent performance with limited mobility in the AFC Conference Championship win over the Bengals.

Who is the Kansas City Chiefs starting QB? 

Texas Tech product Mahomes was drafted by the Chiefs in 2017 and spent his first year with the franchise playing back-up to Alex Smith. 

Mahomes was named the starter the following year, elevating Kansas City to the next level. Since replacing Smith under centre, the Chiefs have never had fewer than 11 wins in the regular season and have hosted the AFC Championship in each of Mahomes’ five seasons as a starter. 

Mahomes is the favourite to be named MVP for a second time this year having been given the honour in 2018.

Related NFL News

NFL Championship 2023 - Philadelphia Eagles Profile

NFL: Who will be named MVP?

Who is the Kansas City Chiefs head coach? 

Andy Reid has only been head coach of two teams in the NFL; the Philadelphia Eagles from 1999 to 2012 before joining the Chiefs in 2013. 

The 64-year-old began the transition of Kansas City from also-rans in the AFC to having a near-continuous presence in the playoffs, missing out on the postseason once since Reid took charge. 

Reid is the only head coach to win over 100 games with two different franchises and is widely regarded as having one of the best offensive minds in the NFL.

Who is the Kansas City Chiefs best player? 

Mahomes is clearly the standout player on the roster but he can’t do it all himself and has formed a powerful connection with tight end Travis Kelce on offence. 

The seven-time Pro Bowler holds a number of all-time records for his position and is currently third in the all-time standings for receiving yards in the playoffs. 

On defence, Chris Jones has been a reliable force on the defensive line for the Chiefs for a number of years and has been right at the top of his game this season, equalling his career-best total of 15.5 sacks.

How many NFL Championship games have the Chiefs played in? 

Kansas City have been to four NFL Championship games previously, losing the very first edition of the showpiece game to the Green Bay Packers 35-10 in 1966. 

They would have more success on their return to the big stage in 1969, beating the Minnesota Vikings to claim their first championship. 

After a couple of near misses, the Chiefs would finally end a 50-year wait to get back to the NFL Championship game in 2019, Mahomes leading them to the Lombardi trophy with a 31-20 win over the San Francisco 49ers. 

They would return for another crack at the world crown the following year but would prove no match for Tom Brady’s Tampa Bay Buccaneers, who routed the Chiefs 31-9.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy