Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. More Sports & News
  2. US Sports

MLB All-Star Game: Date, time, location, how to watch and history

The eyes of the baseball world will be cast upon Arlington, Texas on Tuesday 16th July for the 94th MLB All-Star Game between the best players from the American League and the National League.

The National League will be hoping for another success in the one-off match after they ended a nine-year losing streak with a 3-2 victory in last year’s game.

Below are all the details you need to know about the MLB All-Star Game, including the date, time, venue, how to watch , the history of the game and more.

MLB All-Star Game 2024 date

The game will take place in the early hours of Wednesday 17th July 2024.

MLB All-Star Game 2024 start time

The MLS All-Star Game 2024 will start at 01:00 BST.

MLB All-Star Game 2024 venue

The MLB All-Star Game 2024 will take place at Globe Life Field, in Arlington, Texas, which is the home of the Texas Rangers.

Arrangements have already been made for the next two years, with the 2025 match-up set to take place at Truist Park, which is the home of the Atlanta Braves.

Meanwhile, the American and National Leagues will meet at Citizen’s Bank Park in 2026, where the Philadelphia Phillies play their home matches.

How to watch the MLB All-Star Game 2024

The MLB All-Star Game 2024 will be televised on TNT Sports, who own the rights to televise Major League Baseball in the UK.

MLB All-Star Game 2024 Rosters

The squads for the MLB All-Star Game have not yet been finalised, as the pitchers will be selected by the team managers - Bruce Bochy from the Texas Rangers, who is in charge of the American League team and National League manager Torey Lovullo, who can usually be found in charge of the Arizona Diamondbacks.

However, the fielders and designated hitters have already been selected and the teams will line-up as follows:


American League

National League


Adley Rutschman (Baltimore)

William Contreras (Milwaukee)

First Base

Vladimir Guerrero (Toronto)

Bryce Harper (Philadelphia)

Second Base

Jose Altuve (Houston)

Ketel Marte (Arizona)

Short Stop

Gunnar Henderson (Baltimore)

Trea Turner (Philadelphia)

Third Base

Jose Ramirez (Cleveland)

Alec Bohm (Philadelphia)


Aaron Judge (New York Yankees)

Christian Yelich (Milwaukee)


Juan Soto (New York Yankees)

Jurickson Profar (San Diego)


Steven Kwan (Cleveland)

Fernando Tatis (San Diego)

Designated hitter

Yordan Alvarez (Houston)

Shohei Ohtani (Los Angeles Dodgers)

How does the MLB All-Star voting work?

There are a combination of polls that lead to the team selections, with fans, players and the commissioner’s office all getting a say.

Fans have a huge say, with 50 per cent of their selections for the two starting line-ups counting towards the final selections.

Players get a say in who will be the reserves and the pitchers for each of the two teams and their opinions could for 25 per cent of the total vote.

The commissioner’s office will then select six additional players for each league, which will be made up of four pitchers and two position players.

The reason for this is that it ensures that each team in Major League Baseball will have at least one All-Star representative.

A final vote then takes place, which is a fan vote where an extra player for each league is selected.

MLB All-Star Game history and results

The first MLB All-Star Game took place in 1933 and this year’s match will be the 94th.

No game took place in 1945 or 2020, but there were two a season between 1959 and 1962 and the American League have won 47, with the National League winning 44 and there have been two ties.

Head-to-head table

American League wins


National League wins



2 (1961, 2002)

MLB All-Star Game MVP Award

The MVP (Most Valuable Player) Award is awarded to the game’s most influential participant.

The first All-Star Game MVP award was given out in 1962 to two players, Maury Wells and Leon Wagner.

The award has been named the Ted Williams Most Valuable Player Award since 2002 and a glass bat engraved with the winner's name is awarded. Last year’s winner was Colorado Rockies catcher Elias Diaz.

Five players have the distinction of having been awarded the prize twice. They are: Willie Mays, Steve Garvey, Gary Carter, Cal Ripken and Mike Trout.

The name and trophy for the award was known as the Arch Ward Memorial Award between 1962 and 1970 and the Commissioner's Trophy between 1970 and 1985.

US Sports news and odds

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.