Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Football
  2. League One

League One Play-Offs 2024: Dates, teams, venues, history & more

Last year's League One play-offs produced some of the best drama in the format's history as Sheffield Wednesday overturned a four-goal first-leg deficit against Peterborough to progress on penalties, while Josh Windass scored the winning goal in the last seconds of extra-time in the final against Barnsley.

Here is all you need to know about the 2023/24 League One play-offs and the race for promotion.

League One

League One play-offs 2024 dates

The 2024 League One play-off semi-finals were played on 3rd-4th May and 7th-8th May.

The League One play-off final will take place at Wembley Stadium on Saturday 18th May 2024, with kick-off scheduled for 16:15 BST.

League One play-offs 2024 teams

Peterborough and Barnsley were eliminated in the semi-finals, leaving Bolton Wanderers and Oxford United to compete for a place in the Championship at Wembley.

Oxford beat Peterborough 2-1 on aggregate, while Bolton overcame Barnsley 5-4 on aggregate.

League One play-offs 2024 venues/stadiums

The League One play-off final will be played at Wembley Stadium in London, England.

League One play-offs 2024 how to watch

The League One play-off final will be available to watch live in the UK on Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports Football.

League One play-offs 2024 format

The League One play-offs are played using a simple knockout format. The teams are seeded based on finishing positions in the league, with third-placed finishers playing sixth and fourth playing fifth in the semi-finals.

A simple aggregate score of the two matches decides which teams progress.

The League One play-off final will determine which team gets promoted on the day, with extra-time and penalties used to find a winner if required.

League One play-offs 2024 schedule

The only remaining game in the 2023/24 League One play-offs is the final, which will be contested by Bolton and Oxford on Saturday 18th May.

League One play-offs history

Some illustrious names have won promotion from the League One play-off final, with current Premier League clubs Burnley, Manchester City and Brighton on the list of former winners.

Premier League champions City beat Gillingham in a penalty shootout in 1999 after scoring two late goals in normal time to draw 2-2.

Eight teams have won promotion to the Championship through the play-offs twice, with Sheffield Wednesday the last team to do so when winning last year to add to their 2005 win over Hartlepool at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff.

Sunderland's 2-0 victory over Wycombe in 2022 was the only one of the last seven League One play-off finals to be decided by more than one goal.

Both this season's teams are making their second appearance in the final, with Bolton having lost 1-0 to Tranmere in 1991 while Oxford were beaten 2-1 by Wycombe in 2020.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.