Skip to content
en-gb GO TO bet365 Sports
Narendra Modi Stadium
  1. Cricket

IPL Final: Date, venue & latest odds

The Indian Premier League final is one of cricket's most glittering fixtures and over 100,000 spectators are set to watch the 2023 showdown in Ahmedabad.

Since its launch in 2008, the IPL has become the biggest Twenty20 franchise tournament on the cricketing calendar and a host of Indian and international stars have signed up for the 2023 season, which starts on 31st March.

The colossal Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad also hosted the 2022 final, in which Gujarat Titans defeated Rajasthan Royals, and each of the 10 IPL franchises will be desperate to qualify for the 2023 fixture at the end of May.

WhatIndian Premier League Final 2023
WhereNarendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad, India
WhenSunday 28th May, 2023
How to watchLive on Sky Sports Cricket
OddsChennai Super Kings 10/11, Gujarat Titans 10/11

When is the 2023 Indian Premier League final?

The 2023 Indian Premier League Final will take place on Sunday 28th May. The league stage of the tournament starts on 31st March and finishes on 21st May before the end-of-season playoffs to determine which of the 10 teams meet in the final.

Where is the 2023 Indian Premier League final being held?

The 2023 Indian Premier League final will be held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad in the Indian state of Gujarat.

Completed in February 2020, the venue has a capacity of 132,000, making it the largest stadium in the world, and there was an attendance of 101,566 when it hosted the 2022 Indian Premier League final between Gujarat and Rajasthan.

Related Cricket News

IPL: Dates, schedule, history & odds

International Cricket: Five things we learned from England's winter tours

County Championship: Dates, schedule, history & betting odds

Can I watch the 2023 Indian Premier League final?

Yes. Sky Sports is again covering the Indian Premier League for viewers in the UK and the 2023 final will be available to watch live on Sky Sports Cricket.

How many times has the Indian Premier League final taken place?

The 2023 Indian Premier League is the 16th edition of the tournament. Rajasthan, captained by Australian legend Shane Warne, were the inaugural champions in 2008 and in 2022 the tournament was expanded from eight to 10 franchises with Gujarat and Lucknow Super Giants entering the fray.

12 of the first 15 IPL finals were held at venues across India and three took place overseas. In 2009, Deccan Chargers beat Royal Challengers Bangalore at the Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg, South Africa and Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings were crowned champions in Dubai in 2020 and 2021 respectively.

Who has won the Indian Premier League final on the most occasions?

Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the history of the Indian Premier League, winning the showpiece event on five occasions.

India captain Rohit Sharma led Mumbai to IPL glory in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020 although Chennai Super Kings are just one title behind their great rivals, having triumphed in 2010, 2011, 2018 and 2021.

The Super Kings have reached the final in nine of their 13 IPL campaigns, finishing as runners-up in 2008, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2019.

Kolkata Knight Riders are the only other franchise to have won multiple IPL finals, lifting the trophy in 2012 and 2014, although Gujarat Titans will be looking to emulate them after winning the tournament in their debut season in 2022.

Delhi Capitals and Punjab Kings have reached only one final apiece in 15 attempts, finishing as runners-up in 2020 and 2014 respectively, and Royal Challengers Bangalore are still waiting for their first title, having lost the 2009, 2011 and 2016 finals.

Who are the favourites to win the Indian Premier League?

The 2022 champions Gujarat Titans and their opponents Chennai Super Kings are both priced at 10/11 to win the IPL in what is primed to be a fiercely-contested IPL Final at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedaba.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.