Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Horse Racing

Epsom Derby: Previous Winners

The Epsom Derby is one of the world's biggest horse races, and it is Britain's richest flat horse race.

It is one of the five Classics, which is a group of long-standing Group 1 horse races run during the traditional flat season.

The Epsom Derby is sometimes referred to as the "Blue Riband" of the turf, and it is contested at Epsom Downs in Surrey, with the first edition of the race taking place in 1780.

Here's the complete list of every Epsom Derby winner at Epsom Downs since 1990, with a reminder that you can watch the next instalment on Saturday 3rd June 2023 via the bet365 Sports Live Streaming Service.

WhatEpsom Derby
WhereEpsom Downs, Surrey
When13.30, Saturday 3rd June 2023
How to watchbet365 Sports Live Streaming, ITV & Racing TV
OddsMilitary Order 3/1, Auguste Rodin 4/1, Arrest 9/2, The Foxes 8/1, Sprewell 11/1

The 1990s

A decade in which nine different trainers won the race, while legendary handler Henry Cecil won the event on two occasions with Commander in Chief and Oath.

Owner Khalid Abdullah won the race on two occasions, while iconic jockeys Willie Carson and Kieren Fallon also secured victories during the 1990s.

Year of raceHorseJockeyTrainerOwnerOdds
1990Quest for FamePat EdderyRoger CharltonKhalid Abdullah7/1
1991GenerousAlan MunroPaul ColePrince Fahd bin Salman9/1
1992Dr DeviousJohn ReidPeter Chapple-HyamSidney H. Craig8/1
1993Commander in ChiefMichael KinaneHenry CecilKhalid Abdullah15/2
1994ErhaabWillie CarsonJohn DunlopHamdan Al Maktoum7/2 fav
1995LammtarraWalter SwinburnSaeed bin SuroorSaeed bin M. Al Maktoum14/1
1996ShaamitMichael HillsWilliam HaggasKhalifa Dasmal12/1
1997Benny the DipWillie RyanJohn GosdenLandon Knight11/1
1998High-RiseOlivier PeslierLuca CumaniM. Obaid Al Maktoum20/1
1999OathKieren FallonHenry CecilThe Thoroughbred Corp13/2

Epsom Derby: Biggest shocks

Epsom Derby: Biggest shocks

Horse Racing profile: Lossiemouth

Horse Racing profile: Impervious

The 2000s

Irish trainer Aidan O'Brien won his first Epsom Derby with the legendary Galileo in 2001, before winning it 12 months later thanks to a massive performance from High Chaparral.

Like O'Brien, Sir Michael Stoute won the race on two occasions and in back-to-back years, with Fallon riding both Kris Kin and North Light to victory.

Year of raceHorseJockeyTrainerOwnerOdds
2000SinndarJohnny MurtaghJohn OxxAga Khan IV7/1
2001GalileoMichael KinaneAidan O’BrienMagnier / Tabor11/4 joint-fav
2002High ChaparralJohnny MurtaghAidan O’BrienMagnier / Tabor7/2
2003Kris KinKieren FallonSir Michael StouteSaeed Suhail6/1
2004North LightKieren FallonSir Michael StouteBallymacoll Stud7/2 joint-fav
2005MotivatorJohnny MurtaghMichael BellRoyal Ascot Racing Club3/1 fav
2006Sir PercyMartin DwyerMarcus TregoningAnthony Pakenham6/1
2007AuthorizedFrankie DettoriPeter Chapple-HyamAl Homaizi / Al Sagar5/4 fav
2008New ApproachKevin ManningJim BolgerPrincess Haya of Jordan5/1
2009Sea the StarsMichael KinaneJohn OxxChristopher Tsui11/4

The 2010s

After winning successive Epsom Derbies in the 2000s, O'Brien then did not win another until 2012.

However, he won three on the spin thanks to strong displays from Camelot, Ruler of the World and Australia.

O'Brien, in fact, dominated the race throughout the 2010s, winning the event in 2019 through Anthony Van Dyck.

Year of raceHorseJockeyTrainerOwnerOdds
2010WorkforceRyan MooreSir Michael StouteKhalid Abdullah6/1             
2011Pour MoiMickael BarzalonaAndre FabreJohn Magnier / Michael Tabor / Derrick Smith4/1
2012CamelotJoseph O’BrienAidan O’BrienJohn Magnier / Michael Tabor / Derrick Smith8/13 fav
2013Ruler of the WorldRyan MooreAidan O’BrienJohn Magnier / Michael Tabor / Derrick Smith7/1
2014AustraliaJoseph O’BrienAidan O’BrienJohn Magnier / Michael Tabor / Derrick Smith / Teo Ah Khing11/8
2015Golden HornFrankie DettoriJohn GosdenAnthony Oppenheimer13/8 fav
2016HarzandPat SmullenDermot WeldAga Khan IV13/2
2017Wings of EaglesPadraig BeggyAidan O’BrienJohn Magnier / Michael Tabor / Derrick Smith40/1
2018MasarWilliam BuickCharlie ApplebyGodolphin16/1
2019Anthony Van DyckSeamie HeffernanAidan O’BrienJohn Magnier / Michael Tabor / Derrick Smith13/2

The 2020s

The 2020s started like the decade before ended, with O'Brien winning the Epsom Derby for the eighth time thanks to Serpentine's strong display.

Adayar and Desert Crown have won the race in the last two years for Charlie Appleby and Stoute, with the latter winning the contest in 2022, his first success since 2010.

Year of raceHorseJockeyTrainerOwnerOdds        
2020SerpentineEmmet McNamaraAidan O’BrienJohn Magnier / Michael Tabor / Derrick Smith25/1
2021AdayarAdam KirbyCharlie ApplebyGodolphin16/1
2022Desert CrownRichard KingscoteSir Michael StouteSaeed Suhail5/2 fav

View the latest Epsom Downs odds here

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.