Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Horse Racing

bet365 Gold Cup: Date, venue, runners, history & more

The bet365 Gold Cup is on the horizon and concludes a thrilling season of Jump racing.

The race ultimately decides who is crowned the trainers' champion with Dan Skelton and Paul Nicholls in hot pursuit of Willie Mullins, with the Closutton chief looking to get his hands on the award for the first time.

Kitty's Light, who won the race last year, is the favourite in a highly-competitive renewal.

Horse Racing

bet365 Gold Cup date

The bet365 Gold Cup will take place on Saturday 27th April with a start time of 15:35.

bet365 Gold Cup venue

Ran over a distance of about 3 miles and 5 furlongs, the bet365 Gold Cup is held at Sandown Park in Surrey.

The meeting marks the end of the National Hunt racing season in the UK and features both jump and flat races.

bet365 Gold Cup how to watch

All racing from Britain and Ireland, including the bet365 Gold Cup, is available to watch via the bet365 Sports Live Streaming platform.

The race is also scheduled to be be broadcast live on ITV.

bet365 Gold Cup history

The race was originally established in 1957 and has been sponsored by bet365 since 2008.

Traditionally staged on the final day of the National Hunt season, the bet365 Gold Cup boasts an impressive list of former winners including Arkle and Desert Orchid.

Kitty's Light won the 2023 edition for Christian Williams and is vying to be the first horse to retain the title since Topsham Boy in 1993.

bet365 Gold Cup most successful trainer

Alan King has been one of the more prominent trainers in recent years, winning the race with Talkischeap in 2019 and Potterman in 2021.

Winner of the event with Ad Hoc twice in 2001 and 2003, Tidal Bay in 2012 and Just A Par 2015, Paul Nicholls has recorded the most victories in the 21st century.

But his tally of four is overshadowed by Fulke Walwyn, who chalked up seven winners of the bet365 Gold Cup between 1958 and 1984, including Cheltenham Gold Cup winner Mill House.

bet365 Gold Cup most successful jockey

The likes of Tony McCoy, Ruby Walsh, Barry Geraghty and Richard Johnson have all won the bet365 Gold Cup.

Only one jockey has won the race on three occasions and that is Ron Barry, who was victorious on board Titus Oates (1971), Charlie Potheen (1973) and The Dikler (1974).

bet365 Gold Cup famous winners

From Arkle to Mill House, Special Cargo to Desert Orchid, Topsham Bay to Mr Frisk, some of the biggest names in horse racing have triumphed in the bet365 Gold Cup.

In recent years, Hewick found success in the race and has since gone on to win the American Grand National and King George VI Chase at Kempton.

Three-time Grade 1 winner Tidal Bay was a winner in 2012 for Paul Nicholls.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.