Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. More Sports & News
  2. Rugby League

Super League Grand Final: Date, teams, history & betting odds

The defining date in the European rugby league calendar, this year's Super League Grand Final will mark the end of the 29th edition of the competition, pitting the last two remaining teams against each other after the end-of-season playoffs.

12 teams will battle to earn one of six spots for the knockout phase, which will begin once the 27 rounds of the regular season have been completed.

Last year's Grand Final saw top two Wigan Warriors and Catalans Dragons meet at Old Trafford, with the Warriors downing the Perpignan outfit 10-2.

When is the Super League Grand Final 2024?

The Grand Final takes place on Saturday 12th October. An evening kick-off is scheduled, with the match due to get underway at 18:00.

Where is the Super League Grand Final 2024?

As in previous years, the Grand Final will be hosted at its traditional home of Old Trafford in Manchester. In all years but one since its 1998 inauguration, the final Super League match of the year has taken place at the cavernous 74,000-seater venue.

Where can I watch the Super League Grand Final?

Coverage of the event can usually be found on Sky Sports, who are the main rights holders for the competition. Additional coverage is expected to be available on Channel 4, who began sharing rights in 2022, while highlights are available on the BBC.

Who is the most successful Grand Final team?

Just as St Helens are the most successful team in Super League overall, winning top honours 10 times, they are also the most decorated side in Grand Finals – nine of their titles have come via an end-of-season match, which was introduced to the league format in 1998.

Saints have won four of the last five Grand Finals, with their other triumphs coming in 1999, 2000, 2002, 2006 and 2014.

The next best side in Grand Finals are Leeds Rhinos. Eight-time winners, 2022 saw them reach their first final in five years.

How many teams have won a Grand Final?

In total, four teams have won a Super League Grand Final. In addition to St Helens and Leeds, Wigan Warriors and Bradford Bulls have claimed victory on five and three occasions respectively.

The Warriors are poised to feature in their 12th Grand Final, one more than Leeds, behind Saints’ record of 14. Bradford follow on with six appearances in total.

Additionally, four clubs have reached Grand Finals without ever winning the trophy – with four runners-up medals, Warrington Wolves are the most high-profile example.

Castleford Tigers and Salford Red Devils have reached one final apiece, while Catalans Dragons made their second appearance in the season finale in 2023.

What happened in last year's Grand Final?

In 2023, a pair of first-half penalties sent the sides in level at half-time, before winger Liam Marshall crossed over for Wigan in the second half, scoring the game's only try, with Harry Smith converting before his third kick of the game just after the hour mark saw the Warriors run out 10-2 winners.

Who are the favourites to reach the Super League Grand Final 2024?

Wigan are the 15/8 favourites to win this year's Grand Final on the back of last season's win.

Matty Peet's side stormed to the top of the table with a few weeks to spare to ensure they won the League Leaders' Shield for the first time since 2020, winning the Grand Final a few weeks later.

The Cherry and Whites beat Leigh Leopards 10-6 in their final league match to finish top of the pile and look the team to beat again after winning their last nine games of the campaign before their semi-final win over Hull KR, finishing the job at Old Trafford against Catalans. 

St Helens finished on the same 40 points as Wigan and Catalans but finished third owing to their worse points difference, though they're second favourites for Grand Final success in 2024 at 11/4.

It looks to be a two-horse race this season, though Warrington and Leeds look best-placed to launch a challenge, both priced at 15/2.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.