Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Politics

General Election 2024: Key seats, election night result times and more

The 2024 general election is very nearly upon us, where it's expected Labour will record a landslide victory over the Conservatives.

We have all the key information you'll need for election night.


Key seats to watch

While each of the two main parties have their safe seats with a selection of swing seats, the picture will look very different this year.

Previous swing seats will likely vote for Labour or the Liberal Democrats, while a number of previously safe Conservative seats are at risk.

We've put together a list of the key seats to watch on election night.

United Kingdom bellweather seats

In the United States, there are a handful of states that routinely vote in line with the rest of the country, alternating between Democrat and Republican to correctly call the election.

The United Kingdom has similar, although with changing boundaries they're not always as easy to identify.

Dartford is currently the longest-running bellweather constituency in the United Kingdom, reflecting the overall result at every general election since 1964, and is 1/5 to vote Labour this time around.

Penny Mordaunt's constituency of Portsmouth North is second having voted with the rest of the country every election since 1966, and ominously for Mordaunt, is 2/5 to vote Labour.

What seats are the Liberal Democrats targeting?

For the first time since 2010, the Liberal Democrats will play a significant part in the general election, looking to make around 50 gains from their disappointing 2019 showing.

We've looked at some of the key target seats for the Lib Dems on election night.

MPs at risk of losing their seats

In the 1997 general election, used as the benchmark for Labour success and Conservative failure, there was a swing of 324 seats; this time around, it's likely to be closer to 400, with the Conservatives set to lose around 250 of their seats.

Having been in government for so long, it will mean a number of prominent and long-standing MPs, including Jacob Rees Mogg, Penny Mordaunt, Iain Duncan Smith, Kwasi Kwarteng, Liz Truss and many more at risk of being unseated, and we've compiled a list of some of the most high-profile MPs in danger of losing at the general election.

When will the general election results be confirmed?

The exit poll announced at 10pm on election night will give a strong indicator as to the result, with the results from each constituency expected from around 11pm to 7am the following morning.

We have a guide to when key constituencies will be announced here.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.