Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Football

FA Trophy: Dates, teams, history & more

The FA Trophy is contested by clubs in tiers 5-8 of the EFL system and was first held back in the 1969/70 season, when Macclesfield beat Telford United 2-0 in the final.

Teams from the National League, Southern League, Isthmian League and Northern Premier League can participate in the FA Trophy, a structure that has been in place since 2008.

Halifax Town are the reigning champions after beating Gateshead 1-0 in last season's final, which was the 54th edition, and they have been drawn at home to Altrincham in the third round in the 2023/24 competition.

FA Trophy Dates

The first two qualifying rounds for the FA Trophy take place in September, before the third round of qualifiers in October.

From there, the competition moves into the main stage with the first round taking place in October/November before the second round ties in November.

The third round is scheduled for December and the 2023/24 ties will be played from 8th-9th December, with Scunthorpe's home clash against Solihull Moors first up on Friday.

In January, the remaining 32 teams will compete in the fourth round, while February will see the last 16 battle it out in the fifth round.

March is the designated month for the sixth round (quarter-finals), with the semi-finals taking place in April and the final scheduled for either the 11th or 12th of May.

FA Trophy Venue/Location

The original Wembley Stadium was the home of the FA Trophy final for the first 31 editions, although the three finals that went to a replay were staged at different stadiums.

The Victoria Ground was host for the 1983/84 replay, while The Hawthorns was the venue for the replays in 1986/87 and 1987/88.

During Wembley's redevelopment, the final was moved to Villa Park from 2001 to 2005, while the Boleyn Ground hosted the 2006 final that Grays Athletic won.

Since the 2006/07 edition, the final has been played at the new Wembley Stadium.

FA Trophy How to watch

The 2023/24 final will be broadcast on TNT Sports.

FA Trophy History

Macclesfield Town won the inaugural FA Trophy in the 1969/70 season when beating Telford United 2-0 in the final, the first of two triumphs for the club, who also claimed the spoils in 1996.

Telford made up for that loss the following year when overcoming Hillingdon Borough 3-2 in the final. They went on to lift the trophy two more times, in 1983 and 1989, leaving them with the joint-highest number of FA Trophy wins on three.

Scarborough and Woking have also tasted success three times, with their last final wins coming in 1977 and 1997 respectively.

A total of 37 teams have won the FA Trophy, while Halifax Town are the defending champions and are aiming to win the competition for the third time this season.

Wrexham became the first Welsh winners of the FA Trophy in 2013 when beating Grimsby Town on penalties after the match ended 1-1 after extra-time.

FA Trophy Favourite/odds

There are no outright odds available for the FA Trophy right now, but Barnet and Chesterfield are seen as two major contenders to go all the way.

Following in behind should be Oldham and Bromley, while last season's runners-up, Gateshead, as well as Southend, are also being tipped to put in strong challenges.

Any odds displayed were correct at the time of writing and are subject to fluctuation.


Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.