Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Football
  2. AFCON

AFCON: Which Premier League players could be going?

Ahead of the Africa Cup of Nations kicking off in the Ivory Coast in January 2024, we take a look at which Premier League players could be set to represent their countries at the tournament.

The Africa Cup of Nations takes place every two years, with the latest edition of the tournament to be hosted in Ivory Coast between 13th January and 11th February 2024.

The last AFCON, held in Cameroon in 2021, was won by Senegal, with Sadio Mane overcoming former Liverpool teammate Mo Salah in the final with the Lions of Teranga prevailing on penalties.

Taking place during the European domestic season, AFCON always wreaks havoc upon teams with strong African contingents who are forced to make do without players for up to four fixtures.

All 24 AFCON participants have now been confirmed, with six groups made up of four teams:

AFCON Groups:

Group A:

  • Ivory Coast
  • Nigeria
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Guinea Bissau

Group B:

  • Egypt
  • Ghana
  • Cape Verde
  • Mozambique

Group C:

  • Senegal
  • Cameroon
  • Guinea
  • Gambia

Group D:

  • Algeria
  • Burkina Faso
  • Mauritania
  • Angola

Group E:

  • Tunisia
  • Mali
  • South Africa
  • Namibia

Group F:

  • Morocco
  • DR Congo
  • Zambia
  • Tanzania

We take a look at which Premier League clubs could be set to be impacted most when the tournament takes place at the start of next year:


  • Mohamed Elneny (Egypt)
  • Thomas Partey (Ghana)

Aston Villa

  • Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso)


  • Dango Ouattara (Burkina Faso)
  • Antoine Semenyo (Ghana)
  • Hamed Traore (Ivory Coast)


  • Bryan Mbeumo (Cameroon)
  • Yoane Wissa (DR Congo)
  • Frank Onyeka (Nigeria)


  • Carlos Baleba (Cameroon)
  • Tariq Lamptey (Ghana)
  • Simon Adingra (Ivory Coast)


  • Samuel Bastien (DR Congo)
  • Anass Zaroury (Morocco)
  • Lyle Foster (South Africa)


  • Nicolas Jackson (Senegal)

Crystal Palace

  • Jeffrey Schlupp (Ghana)
  • Jordan Ayew (Ghana)
  • Cheick Doucoure (Mali)


  • Abdoulaye Doucoure (Mali)
  • Idrissa Gueye (Senegal)


  • Alex Iwobi (Nigeria)
  • Calvin Bassey (Nigeria)
  • Fode Ballo-Toure (Senegal)


  • Mohamed Salah (Egypt)

Luton Town

  • Issa Kabore (Burkina Faso)
  • Pelly Ruddock Mpanzu (DR Congo)

Manchester City


Manchester United

  • Andre Onana (Cameroon)
  • Amad Diallo (Ivory Coast)
  • Sofyan Amrabat (Morocco)
  • Hannibal Mejbri (Tunisia)

Newcastle United


Nottingham Forest

  • Ibrahim Sangare (Ivory Coast)
  • Serge Aurier (Ivory Coast)
  • Willy Boly (Ivory Coast)
  • Emmanuel Dennis (Nigeria)
  • Ola Aina (Nigeria)
  • Taiwo Awoniyi (Nigeria)
  • Moussa Niakhate (Senegal)
  • Cheikhou Kouyate (Senegal)

Sheffield United

  • Benie Traore (Ivory Coast)
  • Ismaila Coulibaly (Mali)
  • Anis Ben Slimane (Tunisia)


  • Yves Bissouma (Mali)
  • Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal)

West Ham

  • Said Benrahma (Algeria)
  • Mohammed Kudus (Ghana)
  • Maxwel Cornet (Ivory Coast)
  • Nayef Aguerd (Morocco)


  • Rayan Ait-Nouri (Algeria)
  • Boubacar Traore (Mali)

Africa Cup of Nations

Live Streaming EVERY Game

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.