Skip to content
en-gb GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Football
  2. World Cup

Five greatest ever World Cup semi-finals

We have reached the semi-final stage of the World Cup in Qatar, with Argentina and Croatia set to fight for a place in the final on Tuesday before France and Morocco go head-to-head a day later.

Argentina are favourites in the Full Time Result market at 10/11 against Croatia, who are available at 15/4.

France are 8/15 to beat Morocco in their Full Time Result market, Morocco are 7/1.

Amidst the anticipation for these two showdowns, we look back at five classic World Cup semi-finals from the past.

Brazil v Chile, 1962

Garrincha had already scored twice to knock England out in the quarter-finals in 1962 and he repeated the trick in the last four when Brazil took on hosts Chile.

With Pele out injured, the legendary winger put Brazil in front after just nine minutes in Santiago before doubling his country's advantage just past the half-hour mark.

Vava also grabbed a brace in the second half as Brazil eventually won 4-2. It saw them progress to the final to set up a showdown with Czechoslovakia, which they won 3-1 to become back-to-back world champions after winning the previous World Cup in 1958 in Sweden.

Italy v West Germany, 1970

The semi-final of the 1970 World Cup between Italy and West Germany in Mexico City is widely regarded as one of the greatest games ever played, when Italy won 4-3 with five of the seven goals coming in extra-time.

Italy led for much of the match thanks to Roberto Boninsegna's early goal, but West Germany drew level in the final minute of normal time through the unlikeliest of scorers when defender Karl-Heinz Schnellinger equalised. It was Schnellinger's first and only goal for his country and forced what would be a dramatic extra-time.

Gerd Muller put West Germany ahead early in the first additional period, but Tarcisio Burgnich quickly made it 2-2. Gigi Riva gave the Azzurri the advantage again only for Muller to respond with his second goal in 16 minutes.

Midfielder Gianni Rivera would have the final say, though, making it 4-3 just a minute later to seal one of his country's most talked-about triumphs.

Italy would be no match for Brazil in the final, however, as the Selecao won another memorable game 4-1.

West Germany v France, 1982

The 1982 semi is referred to as the 'Night of Seville' when, in the Spanish city, West Germany won 5-4 on penalties after this classic had finished 3-3 after extra-time.

This game made history as it was the first World Cup match to be decided by spot-kicks.

Pierre Littbarski put the Germans in front before France captain Michel Platini equalised from the penalty spot and, despite plenty of chances for both, that's how it finished after 90 minutes.

The second half's major flashpoint came when France's Patrick Battiston was knocked unconscious in the penalty area following a clash with Harald Schumacher, who had charged out of his goal.

Battiston lost two teeth, suffered three cracked ribs and damaged vertebrae but amazingly no foul was given against the German keeper.

France were on the verge of going through to the final when they went 2-1 and then 3-1 up in the first period of extra-time through goals from Marius Tresor and Alain Giresse, but West Germany had other ideas and mounted a sensational comeback.

Captain and European Footballer of the Year Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, who had not long come on as a substitute having suffered with injury issues, made it 3-2 before Klaus Fischer's effort took the game to penalties.

After both teams had missed one of their five penalties, it was sudden death and, when Maxime Bossis failed from 12 yards for France, Horst Hrubesch converted to win it for West Germany, who would go on to lose 3-1 to Italy in the final.

Related World Cup News

World Cup LIVE

World Cup: A statistical look inside the numbers

England v West Germany, 1990

England's defeat on penalties to West Germany in Turin 32 years ago is still one of the most painful nights in the Three Lions' history.

England had built momentum to reach the last four and were looking to make the final for only the second time, following their victory on home soil in 1966.

After a tight first half, Andreas Brehme's deflected free-kick put the Germans in front but England equalised with 10 minutes left when Gary Lineker struck.

It was a nervous finale as both sides went for the victory but neither could find a winner and penalties were needed.

West Germany would win the shootout 4-3 with England stars Chris Waddle and Stuart Pearce both missing from the spot.

Brazil v Germany, 2014

Germany's incredible 7-1 win over hosts Brazil six years ago remains one of the most stunning results ever in a World Cup match.

In what was expected to be a tight and tense last-four clash, Germany raced into a 5-0 lead inside half an hour thanks to goals from Thomas Muller, Miroslav Klose, Sami Khedira and a brace from Toni Kroos.

Andre Schurrle added to Brazil's embarrassment with two more in the second half, before Oscar scored a last-minute consolation for the home side in a shell-shocked Belo Horizonte.

The amazing win for Joachim Low's side marked Germany's largest-ever margin of victory in a World Cup semi-final as, in the process, they became the highest-scoring team in World Cup tournament history and became the first team to reach eight World Cup Finals.

Klose's goal midway through the first half was also historic as it was the forward's 16th career World Cup goal, which moved him ahead of Brazil legend Ronaldo on the tournament's all-time record goalscorer list, which he still tops.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.