Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. Football
  2. FA Cup

FA Cup Finals: Previous winners

The FA Cup is the oldest club competition in the world and even 152 years after the tournament was first played, it continues to make history as we count down to the 142nd edition of the final.

For the first time ever, we will have a Manchester derby to decide the FA Cup winners this year with United and City set to do battle on Saturday 3rd June at Wembley. 

The two clubs are no strangers to being a part of one of the biggest days in English football’s calendar, contesting a combined 31 finals between them. 

FA Cup finals have produced some of the most iconic moments in the beautiful game over the years and ahead of next month’s final, let's have a look back at some previous winners. 

Here a complete list of every winner and runner-up from previous FA Cup finals, going back to 1990.

WhatMan City v Man Utd, 2023 FA Cup final
WhereWembley, London
When15:00, Saturday 3rd June 
How to watchBBC One & ITV 1
OddsMan City 1/2, Draw 4/1, Man Utd 19/4

The 1990s

Replays for FA Cup finals were scrapped at the start of the 1998/99 season, so this was the last decade teams could potentially contest two finals, if the first game ended in a draw. 

Man Utd needed a replay in 1990 to see off Crystal Palace after a thrilling 3-3 draw in the first game, while Arsenal also went through a marathon pair of games against Sheffield Wednesday to lift the trophy in 1993. 

Given Manchester United’s dominance of the 1990s, it’s no surprise to see them pick up the trophy four times with their 1990 success - the first trophy Sir Alex Ferguson won as Red Devils boss. 

United’s sweetest Wembley success came against arch-rivals Liverpool in 1996, Eric Cantona grabbing the winner in a final remembered for the Reds’ pre-match choice of suits as much as the game itself. 

London clubs enjoyed their fair share of success - two with Arsenal (2), Chelsea and Tottenham, although the latter’s success was marred by a serious injury to England legend Paul Gascoigne.

YearWinnerRunner-upFinal scoreAttendance
1990Man UtdCrystal Palace

(3-3 AET)


1991TottenhamNottingham Forest2-1 AET80,000
1993ArsenalSheffield Wednesday

(1-1 AET)

2-1 AET



1994Man UtdChelsea4-079,634
1995EvertonMan Utd1-079,592
1996Man UtdLiverpool1-079,007
1998ArsenalNewcastle United2-079,183
1999Man UtdNewcastle United2-079,101

The 2000s 

The turn of the Millennium brought about a huge change to the FA Cup final as the old Wembley Stadium and its famous twin towers were demolished to make way for a new national stadium. 

In the meantime, the final spent six years being played at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff, which became a second home for Arsenal, who were involved in four finals. 

They became the first team to win the cup via a penalty shootout when beating Man Utd in 2005. The Millennium Stadium also played host to what’s become known as the Gerrard final; Steven Gerrard steering Liverpool to success against West Ham in 2006 before the final returned to Wembley the following year. 

This decade also featured the fastest goal in final history with Louis Saha scoring for Everton after just 25 seconds in 2009.

YearWinnerRunner-upFinal scoreAttendance
2000ChelseaAston Villa1-078,217
2001LiverpoolArsenal2-1 72,500
2004Man UtdMillwall3-071,350
2005ArsenalMan Utd


(5-4 on penalties)

2006LiverpoolWest Ham


(3-1 on penalties)

2007ChelseaMan Utd1-0 AET89,826
2008PortsmouthCardiff City1-089,874

The 2010s

The decade was to be dominated by what’s become known as the big six with one notable exception. 

Wigan won their maiden FA Cup by pulling off one of the biggest upsets in cup final history when defeating Manchester City as 7/1 underdogs. 

City would make amends on their next final appearance when they equalled the biggest win in FA Cup final history with a 6-0 victory over Watford in 2019.

YearWinnerRunner-upFinal scoreAttendance
2010ChelseaPortsmouth 1-088,335
2011Man CityStoke1-088,643
2013WiganMan City1-086,254
2014ArsenalHull City3-2 AET89,345
2015ArsenalAston Villa4-089,283
2016Man UtdCrystal Palace2-1 AET88,619
2018ChelseaMan Utd1-089,472
2019Man CityWatford6-085, 854

The 2020s

The decade started with a unique final as Arsenal won a record-breaking 14th final against Chelsea at an empty Wembley. 

Leicester also broke their FA Cup duck, having lost their four previous final appearances, with Youri Tielemans scoring one of the great final goals to beat Chelsea in the 2021 decider. 

Chelsea will hope the decade will improve going forward-  having lost all three of the finals to date.

YearWinnerRunner-upFinal scoreAttendance
2021Leicester CityChelsea1-020,000


(6-5 on penalties)


Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.