Skip to content
en-gb GO TO bet365 Sports
  1. TV News

Eurovision 2023: Ireland top previous winners list

Anticipation is building for the hugely-popular Eurovision Song Contest ahead of the annual event later this month.

This year's contest takes place in Liverpool on 13th May with the UK stepping in as the host nation after last year's winners, Ukraine, were unable to stage the event.

Eurovision is the longest-running yearly international televised music competition, having first taken place in 1956. It has been staged annually ever since, apart from in 2020, and is organised by the European Broadcasting Union.

Each country taking part must enter an original song which is performed on the night in front of a live audience - which this year will be at the Liverpool Arena - and then the competing countries cast votes for the other countries' songs to eventually work out a winner.

The rival nations award points for each song - ranging from one to 12 points - to their 10 favourite songs, using the views of expert music professionals alongside votes from each country's viewing public.

The competition is mostly made up of European countries but Australia were invited for the 60th anniversary in 2015 and have been part of the contest ever since.

There have been numerous memorable winners, with the UK triumphing on five occasions down the years. Ireland lead the way overall with seven victories and plenty of famous acts have taken part and won - including ABBA, Buck's Fizz and Celine Dion.

Here, broken down into decades, we run down the complete list of previous Eurovision winners from 1970 onwards.

The 1970s

Ireland won for the first time in 1970 in Amsterdam when Dana's 'All Kind's Of Everything' was voted best song.

The UK triumphed in 1976 for the third time with Brotherhood Of Man's 'Save Your Kisses For Me', while Monaco, Luxembourg and Israel (both twice) also enjoyed success in the 70s.

The 1974 contest was won by Swedish superstars ABBA, who performed 'Waterloo' in Brighton.

YearWinning CountrySongArtist
1970IrelandAll Kinds of EverythingDana
1971MonacoUn banc, un arbre, une rueSeverine
1972LuxembourgApres ToiVicky Leandros
1973LuxembourgTu te reconnaîtrasAnne-Marie David
1976UKSave Your Kisses For MeBrotherhood Of Man
1977FranceL'Oiseau et l'EnfantMarie Myriam
1978IsraelA-Ba-Ni-BiIzhar Cohen and the Alphabeta
1979IsraelHallelujahMilk And Honey

The 1980s

Ireland again got the decade off to a winning start when 'What's Another Year' by Johnny Logan came out on top.

Bucks Fizz’s 'Making Your Mind Up' took first prize a year later in 1981, and Logan was back for more glory in 1987 when he sung 'Hold Me Now'.

YearWinning CountrySongArtist
1980IrelandWhat’s Another Year?Johnny Logan
1981UKMaking Your Mind UpBucks Fizz
1982GermanyEin bisschen FriedenNicole
1983LuxembourgSi la vie est cadeauCorinne Hermes
1984SwedenDiggi-Loo Diggi-LeyHerreys
1985NorwayLa det swingeBobbysocks!
1986BelgiumJ'aime la vieSandra Kim
1987IrelandHold Me NowJohnny Logan
1988SwitzerlandNe partez pas sans moiCeline Dion
1989YugoslaviaRock MeRiva

The 1990s

The 90s was the decade in which Ireland dominated the contest with no less than four victories. Linda Martin's 'Why Me' triumphed in 1992, before Niamh Kavanagh's 'In Your Eyes' won a year later and Paul Harrington and Charlie McGettigan made it an Irish hat-trick in 1994 with 'Rock 'n' Roll Kids'.

Ireland's fourth success came in 1996 when Eimear Quinn's 'The Voice' was voted the winner, and in 1997 Katrina and the Waves' 'Love Shine A Light' won the competition for the UK.

Year    Winning CountrySongArtist
1990ItalyInsieme: 1992Toto Cutugno
1991SwedenFangad av en stormvindCarola
1992IrelandWhy Me?Linda Martin
1993IrelandIn Your EyesNiamh Kavanagh
1994IrelandRock 'n' Roll KidsPaul Harrington and Charlie McGettigan
1995NorwayNocturneSecret Garden
1996IrelandThe VoiceEimear Quinn
1997UKLove Shine A LightKatrina and the Waves
1998IsraelDivaDana International
1999SwedenTake Me To Your HeavenCharlotte Perrelli

The 2000s

The 2000s saw 10 different countries winning across the first decade of the millennium, including Denmark, Latvia, Turkey, Greece and Ukraine.

The 2009 victor, 'Fairytale', performed by Alexander Rybak, who was representing Norway, won with what was at the time the highest recorded score since the contest began, picking up 387 points out of a possible maximum 492.

YearWinning CountrySongArtist
2000DenmarkFly On The Wings Of LoveOlsen Brothers
2001EstoniaEverybodyTanel Padar, Dave Benton and 2XL
2002LatviaI WannaMarie N
2003TurkeyEvery Way That I CanSertab Erener
2004UkraineWild DancesRuslana
2005GreeceMy Number OneHelena Paparizou
2006FinlandHard Rock HallelujahLordi
2007SerbiaMolitvaMarija Serifovic
2008RussiaBelieveDima Bilan
2009NorwayFairytaleAlexander Rybak

The 2010s

Germany won the Eurovision Song Contest in 2010 for the second time when Lena's effort 'Satellite' picked up the most votes, with Sweden winning twice during this decade, triumphing in 2012 and 2015.

Portugal's sole success in the competition came in 2017 when Salvador Sobral performed 'Amar pelos dois' in Kyiv.

YearWinning CountrySongArtist
2011AzerbaijanRunning ScaredEll and Nikki
2013DenmarkOnly TeardropsEmmelie de Forest
2014AustriaRise Like a PhoenixConchita Wurst
2015SwedenHeroesMans Zelmerlow
2017PortugalAmar pelos doisSalvador Sobral
2019NetherlandsArcadeDuncan Laurence

The 2020s

With no competition taking place in 2020, the 2021 version was won by Italy and Maneskin, who collected the most votes for their song 'Zitti e buoni'.

Ukrainian rap group Kalush Orchestra took the prize 12 months ago when they sung 'Stefania' in Turin.

YearWinning CountrySongArtist
2020No contest  
2021ItalyZitti e buoniManeskin
2022UkraineStefaniaKalush Orchestra
bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets

Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.