Skip to content
GO TO bet365 Sports
Europa League
  1. Football
  2. Europa League

Europa League 2023/24 final: Date, location, history & how to watch

The lineup for the 2023/24 Europa League final has been confirmed, with the showpiece set to take place in Dublin between Atalanta and Bayer Leverkusen.

The 2023/24 campaign is the 15th edition of Europe's second-tier competition since it was rebranded from the UEFA Cup to the Europa League.

This season's showpiece will be the second time the Aviva Stadium has staged the Europa League final, with Porto prevailing 1-0 over Braga in an all-Portuguese affair back in 2011.

Sevilla are the reigning Europa League champions, having won the tournament for a record seventh time in the 2022/23 final when beating Roma at the Puskas Arena in Budapest.

With Atalanta and Bayer Leverkusen ready to battle it out for the trophy this season, here's everything you need to know about the 2023/24 final.

Atalanta v Bayer Leverkusen

Europa League 2023/24 final date

The final is set to take place on Wednesday 22nd May 2024.

Europa League 2023/24 final time

The final will kick off at 20:00 UK time.

Europa League 2023/24 final venue

The final will take place at the Aviva Stadium in Dublin, Republic of Ireland.

A ground built on the location of the former Landsdowne Road Stadium, the Aviva was opened on 14th May 2010.

The home of the Ireland rugby union team and the Republic of Ireland national football team, the stadium has a capacity of 51,711.

Europa League 2023/24 final - how to watch

This season's Europa League final will be shown live on TNT Sports 1 and TNT Sports Ultimate.

Europa League final history

The 2023/24 Europa League campaign is the 53rd season of Europe's secondary club football competition and the 15th since it was rebranded from the UEFA Cup to the Europa League.

The UEFA Cup was first contested in 1971/72, with Tottenham beating Wolves 3-2 over two legs in an all-English showdown. Atletico Madrid beat Fulham 2-1 in the final when the competition was first called the Europa League in 2009/10.

Sevilla have the best record in Europe's secondary club football competition having won it seven times. The Spanish side's first triumph came in 2006 when they beat Middlesbrough in the final before going on to lift the trophy in 2007, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2020 and 2023.

Their most recent triumph came last season when they overcame Jose Mourinho's Roma after a penalty shootout.

Inter Milan have won the competition three times - in 1991, 1994 and 1998 - and were also runners-up in 1997 and 2020.

Liverpool, Juventus and Atletico Madrid have also won the competition three times, with the Premier League side's last success coming in 2001 when they beat Alaves 5-4 in a thrilling encounter.

They reached the final in 2016 but were beaten by Sevilla.

Juventus have not tasted success in the competition since 1993, when they thrashed Borussia Dortmund 6-1 on aggregate, while Atletico's three victories all came between 2010 and 2018.

Borussia Monchengladbach, Tottenham, Feyenoord, Eintracht Frankfurt, IFK Goteborg, Real Madrid, Parma, Porto and Chelsea have all won the competition on two occasions while Manchester United's sole triumph was in 2017 when they beat Ajax 2-0 in the final.

Eintracht Frankfurt edged past Rangers on penalties in a compelling 2021/22 final in Seville.

Spanish sides have won the competition on 14 occasions in total, while English and Italian teams have each triumphed nine times and German clubs seven times.

Any odds displayed were correct at the time of writing and are subject to fluctuation.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy

New to bet365? Bet £10 & Get £30 in Free Bets Join Now

Min deposit requirement. Free Bets are paid as Bet Credits and are available for use upon settlement of qualifying bets. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.