Skip to content
  1. Snooker

English Open: Start date, TV schedule, betting odds & final details

The English is now underway and is the World Snooker Tour's final high-profile event of the calendar year.

Here is everything you need to know about the tournament, which is being held at the Brentwood Centre in Essex.

WhatEnglish Open
WhereBrentwood Centre, Essex
WhenMonday 12th - Sunday 18th December 2022
How to watchEurosport

What is the English Open?

The English Open is a ranking tournament on the World Snooker Tour. It is a part of the Home Nations Series alongside the Northern Irish Open, Scottish Open, and Welsh Open. 

It will be the seventh ranking tournament of the season so far.

When is the English Open?

The English Open got underway on Monday 12th December 2022, with the final taking place on Sunday 18th December, 2022.

Where will the English Open be played?

This tournament will be played at the Brentwood Centre in Essex - the first time the event has been held there.

Previously, it has been staged at EventCity in Manchester, the Barnsley Metrodome, the K2 Leisure Centre in Crawley and, for the past two years, the Marshall Arena in Milton Keynes.

Who are the previous winners?

A different winner has been produced in each of the six English Opens since the tournament's inception in 2016.

Last year Neil Robertson, one of only two players to make the final on more than one occasion, won for the first time by defeating John Higgins 9-8 in a nail-biting finale.

Chinese player Liang Wenbo won the first edition, beating Judd Trump in the final, while Ronnie O'Sullivan, Stuart Bingham, Mark Selby and Trump himself have all claimed the honours before.

What is the format of the English Open?

Sixty-four players from the Tour enter the main draw following two pre-qualifying rounds, which took place at the Morningside Arena in Leicester in October.

The current top-16-ranked players undertook their qualification matches at the venue for the televised stages of the tournament, with those encounters, together with matches in rounds one, two and three being played over the best of seven frames.

That increases to nine in the quarter-finals and further up to 11 for the last-four matches, while the final will be contested over 17 frames.

What is the prize money available to players?

The winner will scoop a cheque of £80,000 with the runner-up taking £35,000. Reaching the tournament itslef will be worth £3,000 while there is a highest break pot of £5,000. In total, £427,000 is on offer to the 64 players who made it Brentwood.

How to watch the English Open...

Eurosport have the broadcast rights with matches to be shown on their TV channels and the Eurosport Player online.

What are the current world rankings?

At the time of writing, O'Sullivan is the number one-ranked player in the world, with his prize money for the past two years just about exceeding £1million.

Robertson is second, with Trump third and Selby fourth. Experienced duo Higgins and Mark Williams round out the top six.

Related Snooker News

Scottish Open: All you need to know

UK Championship: All You Need to Know

Who has already won on the tour this year?

The six ranking tournaments played so far this season have produced five different winners. Luca Brecel kicked off the season with a win in the Championship League, before Kyren Wilson won the European Masters.

Ryan Day narrowly defeated Mark Allen to claim the British Open title, but Allen then scooped the next prize, winning his home Northern Ireland Open for the second time in a row, before the in-form Northern Irishman scooped another triple crown title, in winning the UK Championship.

Gary Wilson claimed his maiden ranking crown in the last event, overcoming Joe O'Connor in the Scottish Open final.

In terms of non-ranking events, Robertson and Thai ladies player Mink Nutcharut won the World Mixed Doubles, while O'Sullivan claimed victory in both the Hong Kong Masters and the Champion of Champions.

Does the trophy have a name?

Yes, it is called the Davis Trophy, named after former six-time world champion Steve Davis, who retired in April 2016, six months before the inaugural tournament took place

Are there any other bonuses on offer?

Any player who wins all four Home Nations Series events will receive a bonus prize fund of £1,000,000, but given that there have been two winners across the three qualifying events thus far, there will be no additional bonus paid out this season.

Related Articles

bet365 uses cookies

We use cookies to deliver a better and more personalised service. For more information, see our Cookie Policy